2x6600GT or 1x6800GT ??? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2005, 12:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

ok you gotta look at this from a wide perspective ok? Yes you can get 2 6600GT's and be a pimp w/ sli blah blah and have great performance but as gara said there are driver compatibility issues right now that are a real big problem. So if you go /w the 6800GT and pay the same (give or take) you will get better performance at the start and when SLI becomes the standard (if it does im assuming only) you buy ANOTHER 6800GT and BOOM! youve got great performance! See what im talking about?
Quote:
there is no PCI-X
yes there is. google it or look it up on sites. wanna linky? ill send you one of a mobo that has PCI-X; it is completely different than PCI-E. It cant run the current video cards, and actually i have yet found a video card that supports PCI-X.
Quote:
voodoo was very similar to the current SLI technology, yet you don't see any voodoo cards around today.
Ok this is a story all in its own. Ok simply put Voodoo put to much money in other companies to create their bords and after some crap they got boguth out (or went bankrupt, who knows. i think if oyu look you will find the complete story) Where as the Voodoo boards are concerned, yes they are similar to SLI but VERY different! They have 2 GPU's on one board to split the load of the of just one. What they where trying to accomplish was halfing the load for cooler temps only to OC the chips and then BAM you have quad power. They where gonna try and make that times 8 by putting 4 chips on one board (Voodoo 5 6000) but they went out of business before hand. the only point is that they didnt do it right so it wasnt effective and only made the thing to be REALLY HUGE!!! What SLI is doing is basically the same thing but splitting the load between two cards. So if say you have one 6800GT and it performs great why not put another in there and doiuble the performance maybe? Thing is, is its not working as they hoped so righ tnow its only a scam if you say for ppl to buy more of their cards lol. Pretty smart. i lost my train of thought so im out. if i forgot somethig please say!
Quote:
Weather or not SLI is even worth it, a 256MB is better then 2 128MBs. 6800GT...
not exactly cause games dont exactly use all of 256mb. Only doom3 i belive uses that much on board Vram. But it requires 512mb for Ultra high settings. SO techinically 128 is not better but its not worse.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 12:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Couldn't have said it any better than that PP.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 01:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

PCI-E = PCI Express
PCI-X = PCI Xpress

Or at least I think...
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 01:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

actually no.
http://www.pcisig.com/specifications/pcix_20/
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 02:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

sorry my mistake in not mentioning the Server platforms, so still i say there is no concept of PCI-X in desktop boards, PCI-X was successor of PCI (only seen in server motherboards), and the newer vesion of this is PCI-X 2.0 (just like USB 2.0), and this PCI-X 2.0 is still slower than the PCI-E. and will not live longer than half decade as it will eventually be replaced by PCI-E.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 03:01 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default

Well i was only saying that there IS a PCI-X cause you said there wasnt. I was just refering to everything cause not everybody knows so it serves as valuable information. I was thinking about getting that server board and trying to make it a desktop by getting the top of th eline PCI-X video card. lol so much for that as i found out. but yes PCI-E iS faster and wil llive on whereas PCI-X will not cause i dont know of any purpose for it. Unless someboyd can fill me in
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 03:32 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to 20mm
Default

can you only run nvidia cards in SLi as of now?
20mm is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 03:36 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

yes.
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 03:39 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

hmm, ATi has been as well tested. the myth is in using identical cards.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 04:13 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

dual video cards is a waste of time and money
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.