2x 6600GT (SLI) or 1x 6800GT (Normal) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2005, 08:42 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 138
Default

The problem is I can't get it in single SLI configuration. Only in an AGP board or I'd have to get the two 6600 GTs
__________________

z3phyr04 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 10:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by z3phyr04
The problem is I can't get it in single SLI configuration. Only in an AGP board or I'd have to get the two 6600 GTs
Trust me their are PCI-E 6800GT's
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 10:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 138
Default

I know that there are but the company I am purchasing this from will only supply either a 6800GT AGP system or a 2x 6600GT SLI system.

Or they do a 2x 6800GT SLI system for £2699





----


However...

I have been looking and I found this earlier today. Means I would have to save some wages for a few weeks for a monitor but it seems very sweet for the price - what do you think?


Case: Thermaltake Tsunami Black
Motherboard: Asus A8N-SLi Deluxe
Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3500+
RAM: 1024MB DDR400 PC3200 Dual Channel
HDD: 300GB Serial ATA 150
Optical Drive 1: DVD-RW
Optical Drive 2: CD-RW/DVD-ROM Combi
Floppy Drive: Floppy Drive
Sound Card: Creative Audigy 2 ZS
Graphics Card 1: GeForce 6800 GT 256MB DDR + DVI/TV
Graphics Card 2: GeForce 6800 GT 256MB DDR
Keyboard And Mouse: Logitech Wireless K&M (Blk/Slv)
Speakers: Creative T7900 7.1
Operating System: XP Pro

Price inc. VAT: £1,767.49


And if i saved my wages I was thinking of getting this monitor to go with it:

http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=63464


Would that be a better idea? I can wait a bit longer I've been waiting to actually buy this thing for 4 months
z3phyr04 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 11:21 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Can you build a computer yourself? If so let us do some shopping for you and I think we can get that a couple hundred Euro less.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 11:35 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 138
Default

No i've never built one before - don't know how
z3phyr04 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 12:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It's easy find some guides and see if its' something your willing to do

We can get you a better system for much cheaper
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 12:48 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 138
Default

OK i'm intrigued. I could probably do it - i would just be worried about getting it right. What can I get for £1700? Bearing in mind im in the uk
z3phyr04 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

www.overclockers.co.uk is a good place to buy from. You have got a very nice budget, wish I had that sort of money for a pc.

AMD Athlon FX55 (Socket 939) - Retail (CP-099-AM)
£499.95 £499.95
DFI LanParty UT NF4 SLI-D (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-013-DF)
£109.95 £109.95
Corsair 1GB DDR XMS3200C2PT TwinX (2x512MB) CAS2 (MY-030-CS)
£104.95 £104.95
Leadtek GeForce 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) (GX-049-LT)
£237.50 £475.00
NEC ND3520 16x16 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter (Black) - OEM (CD-014-NE)
£32.50 £32.50
Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 Plus NCQ 120GB ST3120827AS SATA 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-004-SE)
£45.95 £45.95
Antec TruePower 550W PSU (CA-002-AN)
£72.50 £72.50
Subtotal £1,340.80
VAT £234.64
Total £1,575.44

leaves you £125 for things like case, aftermarket heatsink, speakers sound card (only if you think you will need it, onboard is very good now.) You may even want to get a raptor instead for the hard drive.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:25 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 138
Default

Well I have saved for about a year

I decided to have a 3500+ as an FX-55 would cost too much

So heres my cart:

DFI LanParty UT NF4 SLI-D (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-013-DF)
£109.95 £109.95

Corsair 1GB DDR XMS3200C2PT TwinX (2x512MB) CAS2 (MY-030-CS)
£104.95 £104.95

Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 Plus NCQ 300GB ST3300831AS SATA 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-021-SE)
£109.95 £109.95

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Winchester 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail (CP-101-AM)
£159.95 £159.95

NEC ND3520 16x16 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter (Black) - OEM (CD-014-NE)
£32.50 £32.50

Sony CRX230ES 52x32x52 CD-RW (Black) - OEM (CD-018-SO)
£15.00 £15.00

Coolermaster Wave Master - Silver (No PSU) (CA-037-CM)
£84.95 £84.95

Antec TruePower 550W PSU (CA-002-AN)
£72.50 £72.50

Gigabyte 3D Cooler Ultra GT (GHPCU31-VH) Copper Heatsink (Socket A, Socket 754 & Socket 478) (HS-001-GI)
£26.75 £26.75

Creative Inspire 7.1 T7900 Speakers - Retail (SP-039-CL)
£68.65 £68.65

Leadtek WinFast GeForce 6800 Ultra 256MB DDR3 TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-055-LT)
£324.95 £649.90

Subtotal £1,435.05

VAT £251.14

Total £1,686.19



Is that everything I would need? (apart from a monitor of course)
z3phyr04 is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:28 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

heatsink wont fit.

instead of getting one harddrive, get two of these in raid 0 Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 Plus NCQ 160GB ST3160827AS SATA 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-015-SE) It is cheaper and will be faster.


edit: get a cable sleeving kit as well - you will need to get a molex remover


http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal..._sleeving.html

edit again: you may want to get the same make for the cd-rw and dvd-rw as it woulsd look a bit neater, but then you have a cover over your cd drives

also get a floppy drive, they are required for installation.

edit again: I assume you have a keyboard and mouse, yeah?
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.