2nd SATA Drive install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2005, 11:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default 2nd SATA Drive install

I bought a Western Digital 200GB SATA Drive to go with my WD Raptor Drive, cause I needed more space. I got it installed in the Box itself, now I do't know what to do next. Do I need to have the Windows XP Disk to get the the Format Screen so I can set this drive up? Or can I just use some sort of boot disk, and how would I make one for XP? Also, the back of the Drive didn't list any if the jumper settings for Master and Slave, is that even an issue with SATA?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 12:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Well, I just put in the XP Disk, to try to get to the Format Menu, and now its telling me there are no hard drives, even though both hard drives are being detected on the boot screen.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 01:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

have they been partitioned?

if not then go to dos... I usually use a win98 start up disk and press shift+F5 to go to command prompt... and type: fdisk

and just follow the instructions...

after a drive is partitioned it will need to be formatted and will most likely show up...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 02:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

I figured it out after reading a bit in the Western Digital Help Site. It was some post on creating additional partitions on a SATA drive. So it wasn't really releated, but it gave me the start I needed. I was able to mangage and formate the drive from within windows. By going into the Disk Management section of my computer.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.