2GB of RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2005, 10:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default 2GB of RAM?

I am thinking of maybe upgrading to 2GB of RAM, because I am getting more RAM lag in BF2 and F.E.A.R. than video card lag. First, would this be a good investment? I think it would be a better investment than a video card at this point, since I plan on upgrading my CPU/vid card/mobo this winter/spring.

Second, what RAM should I go with? Considering that I am not a major overclocker, I was thinking of going with Corsair XMS (Yeah, I know Nubius hates it), mostly because its cheap these days. Corsair XMS would be perfect for what I'm doing i think, being as I'm not going to push it to the limits. What do you think?

beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 10:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*

i would go with teh XMS too, but 2GB or ram how much is the game recommanding you to use.

Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3

BF2 is an incredibly resource heavy game, wasn't really "built" well. 2GB of RAM should really be "recommended" on the box.

if you're spending $100's of bucks jsut for a few games, i dont really think it's smart. but if you need it for more than games, i'd say it's a good idea to purchase it.
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 11:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286

yeah, go with Corsair XMS, i was impressed with mine... good stuff
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 12:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

You don't need to spend the extra money on XMS. The way Corsair built them is absolutely ridiculous, they're marketed as performance RAM (which translates into low latency which translates into better stability at higher speeds) yet they won't yield as good of results as better stuff built on BH-5s or TCCDs.

They're value RAM with a hefty price tag and you're paying for a flashy name, you would be better off investing in some better, and cheaper for that matter, Twinmos BH-5 chips, or just plain value RAM. As you already noted you aren't overclocking so the difference will be neglible to you.

BTW, try increasing your page file first before you go out and buy more RAM for such a mediocre cause
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 02:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
majistic's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434

I agree with gaara there is better RAM out there than XMS, such as the Corsair ELVX also it's nice for OCing. Really if you have 1gb of RAM is just fine for BF2.
majistic is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 02:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

I was thinking of going with Corsair XMS (Yeah, I know Nubius hates it),
I only hate it in terms of overclocking and the fact people always suggest it because they are clueless to other brands out there.

As gaara said, if you aren't planning on overclocking then you might as well save money on it and just get valueRAM.

Gaara - Those TwinMOS I whored out for a long time no longer have BH-5s or winbond utt though unless you get REALLY lucky, you'd have to get their premium brand.
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 05:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
HAVOC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC

2GIG of VALUE RAM is all you need as a non-overclocker.

As far as the need for 2GIG goes, I believe it's absolutely necessary for some of the newer games that have come out in the last 6 months and will come out in the next 6 months. They whore all your resources and beg for more.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-08-2005, 11:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

Kingston ValueRam is cheap and has done a great job for me. Installed it (4x 512 DDR 400)and forgot about it and it's not caused a single problem.

Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.