2700 and a 64 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2004, 03:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default 2700 and a 64

since i have a some pc 2700 memory, and i am getting a AMD athlon 64 3000+ will that be a bad combo, cause i dont have enough money right now to get some other memory...
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 03:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

2700 won't be too bad, and will get you through for the time being, but you really want PC3200 or better for hard-core gaming.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 04:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

yeah that is probobly true, but now i have to work some more to get that 3200 stuff cause i just upgraded my pc for quite a bit of money.

would i still be able to overclock any with this stuff?
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 05:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

The PC2700 is going to be alright for now. If you plan on doing some heavy gaming (and I mean heavy), you are going to need more than just the average 400 Mhz (PC3200). I would strongly recommend going for some High Performance memory, like Corsair XMS, or Corsair XMS PRO (if you want to go all out).

The Corsair XMS PRO is unbelievable. It is quite expensive (512 Mb of XMS PRO costs more than 1 Gb of XMS), but IMO it is worth the price. I just bought some of it (C2 (OC'd) version), and I couldn't believe my eyes. This memory is the king. If you don't have the money right now... This would be a great investment.
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 06:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

meh i think that stuff is a waste of money IMO. im not sure if it is worth the outrageous price that it is...
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 06:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GameGURU
meh i think that stuff is a waste of money IMO. im not sure if it is worth the outrageous price that it is...
I kinda agree with you, while it looks awesome in reality and in specs, what is the real world gain over the "average" XMS DIMMS and such?
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 07:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default



It is definatly worth the price. 512 Mb of this stuff is more than enough.
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 08:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

waste of money
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 09:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

since i have crappy 2700 i wont be able to overclock will i?
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 10:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

GameGURU... If you have "crappy" memory at 2700... You may be able to overclock it... But it would become very unstable. You will often receive messages from the O/S asking you to reboot due to the system failing to write to the memory properly (aka System Registry Failure).
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.