256 meg ram and 512 meg ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2004, 06:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 389
Question 256 meg ram and 512 meg ram

do u think a 256 meg ddr400 stick of ram and 512 meg ddr400 stick of ram will work together as 768 meg on dual channel or do u need two sticks of the same megs?or is two sticks of 256 megs r better?
__________________

__________________
DAVID_15 is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 09:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default Re: 256 meg ram and 512 meg ram

Quote:
Originally posted by DAVID_15
do u think a 256 meg ddr400 stick of ram and 512 meg ddr400 stick of ram will work together as 768 meg on dual channel or do u need two sticks of the same megs?or is two sticks of 256 megs r better?
You need to get 2 sticks of the same type of RAM to run them DC
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 09:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 408
Default Re: Re: 256 meg ram and 512 meg ram

Quote:
Originally posted by The Merlin
You need to get 2 sticks of the same type of RAM to run them DC
yep, and it is more efficient am i right merlin hehe... chek my posts, u can find more info there
cheerios is offline  
Old 04-11-2004, 10:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default Re: Re: Re: 256 meg ram and 512 meg ram

Quote:
Originally posted by cheerios
yep, and it is more efficient am i right merlin hehe... chek my posts, u can find more info there
Thats what I've said the last 2 posts
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.