240 MB of RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2005, 04:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default 240 MB of RAM

Hello
I rcetly say a spec of this laptop(fujitsu siemens) say that it was 240 MB, i thought sticks of RAM came in 128 MB, 256 MB, 512 MB or 1 GB
how is a 240 MB possible?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

They come in 64 and older ones are 32, 24, 16, 8, ect.

128+64+32+16=240
__________________

Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

most notebooks use integrated video. the reason you see 240MB of ram instead of 256MB is because 16MB of that ram is being allocated for the video, which is no problem. unless you are buying this thing for games, which you are probably not.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Sw1tch[fx] is right, that is almost certainly the reason.
As for the 240MB being comprised of a 128+64+32+16, thats rubbish. No manufacturer is going to supply a sytem with that combination of modules in, whats more, laptops often only have 2 or 3 RAM sockets. I have never heard of one with 4.
Samm is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 04:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

thats the problem when buying a lower end laptop, they all come with 256mb and integrated video so u loose more ram and by the end of it is just isnt enough to run much stuff on it. if i were u i would get another stick of 256 at least.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 06:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

when you talk about integrated graphics, you mean some sort of chip on the mobo itself? correct?

and that is using a prt of the RAM?


to upgarde the RAM on the laptop, i guess i would have to physcially open the laptop thus voiding the warranty.
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 07:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Yeah, my POS laptop has 240mb, obviously integrated video.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 07:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

To upgrade the RAM on a laptop, in most cases, you can access it via a panel on the underside of the laptop. It's normally located fairly centrally & will have about 4 screws holding it in place.

You shouldn't need to open the main casing up.

As far as voiding the warranty is concerned, you'll have to read your warranty to find out. Be especially careful if there is a sticker on the panel that will be broken by opening it or it the screw heads have something covering them that will be broken by removing the screws.
Samm is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 07:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

Hi Samm! :drool::drool::drool::drool::drool::drool:
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 07:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Hi Sport!
__________________

Samm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.