24 Pin connector? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 11:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 377
Default 24 Pin connector?

Anyone have this and know if it has a 24 pin connector?

OCZ Modstream 450w----
PSU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104154

And if it does is it stable enough for a gaming computer?
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 12:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

yea should do u perfectly fine and it probably does have a 24 pin connector and if not it wil l come with an adapter probably
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 12:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

What motherboards use 24pin connectors?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 07-29-2005, 12:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

My Opteron mobo uses 24 pin.
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 12:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yep, newer server and PCI-E boards use the ATX2.0 connectors
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 12:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 377
Default

Would it be a bad idea to change from the OCZ modstream 450w to the OCZ powerstream 420w?
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 01:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

The Modstream 450 W has a 24-pin. I own one. Also, the max power output of the 450 W is 550 W I believe. The 450 W is supposedly the power it can deliver on a "normal" basis. For a few second bursts it can go as high as 550 W I believe.
Chankama is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 04:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

Keep in mind you can of course plug a 24 pin PSU into a 20 pin motherboard so long as there are no capacitors or other tall things obstructing the side of the connector.
__________________

__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.