24 or 36 inch IDE cable? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2005, 12:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default 24 or 36 inch IDE cable?

If I'm getting a Thermaltake Tsunami case, what size rounded IDE cable should I get for my opticals? 24 or 36? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 12:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You should get 18.

24 and 36 are not part of the IDE standard and can cause trouble.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 12:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Oh aright, thanks. I've never taken the time to actually measure the cable when I've been inside a pc .
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 12:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
You should get 18.

24 and 36 are not part of the IDE standard and can cause trouble.
are u shur? if so please explain more, or link to an explination.

I understand that lenght in wires can affect things, but its not like a 150' ethernet cable compaired to a 10'.

im also asking cause i got 4 round 36" EIDE cables and 1 18" round floppy cable for 10 bucks total. There not in use, ther for future use. And since thy were cheap it wont devistate me if thy cause problems, but id be curiouse to know why u think thy might?.
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 01:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It should state this on the website of whoever developed the standard for ATA-133.

Here's a brief sometihng, even though it states and not explains
http://www.hastec.nl/support/onstrea...-art-1042.html

Here's another more credible source, read the STOP part
http://www.pcguide.com/ref/hdd/if/ide/confCable-c.html

Also, rounded cables are not part of the standard, and rounded cables can cause crosstalk which can lead to data corruption. The 80 pin high speed ATA cable has 40 signals, and 40 grounds. Between each signal is a ground. However in a rounded cable, the signal's touch the signals.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 01:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Never heard of that..... All a rounded cable looks to be is a cable that has been split or folded along the wires..... But the length part i can understand messing up.....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 01:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
Never heard of that..... All a rounded cable looks to be is a cable that has been split or folded along the wires..... But the length part i can understand messing up.....

A rounded cable is only slightly better than a 40 pin cable...
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 01:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

The ones i have never gave me problems...... but they also came with my motherboard and all MSI does to them is fold the cable and put something around it....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 06:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
A rounded cable is only slightly better than a 40 pin cable...
A rounded cable might be potentialy worse. But some how i seriousely doubt you would see a difference in performance froma 80pin EIDE cable or a Rouded 80pin cable.

The information you provided witch is described in those links is valid. But its probably a little overly cautious. But since the potential is there... what im going to do on the future build that usess these cables is... assemble the drives with the standard 80pin cables first, format and install everything. creat the backup image, and then switch over to the round cables, so if any potential problem occures at that point it wont matter.

but interesting non the less, i did not know of problems with those cables till you mentioned it. Though it will probabaly be a long time till i put those round cables to use, i will definatly pay atention and look fora perfromance difference.
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-06-2005, 08:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I've never heard of having problems with a round IDE cable. I use them all the time. Interesting...
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.