22 pin PSU and 24 pin PSU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2005, 12:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default 22 pin PSU and 24 pin PSU

If i have a 24 pin mobo do i have to plug a 24 pin plug into it or can ad 22 pin connector plug into it?
__________________

__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 12:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

I'm guessing that it's a no, although you may be able to mod the board. I know it is possible to plug a P2 CPU into a Celeron Board, with some modding.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 01:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

No im talking about the PSU pin my mobo is 24 pin. The plug that came with my PSU is 22. Right now i cant get the new computer to start up. Either it is the PSU the mobo or the CPU.

Im lost before i start ripping it apart and troubleshooting im wondering if it has to be 24 pin plug or not. And i just need to find an adapter.
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 03:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 41
Send a message via ICQ to an0nym0us Send a message via AIM to an0nym0us
Default

what board are you running i might have the answer
__________________
Intel 550 - Abit AS8 - 1gb Corsair XMS - 6600GT - 74gb Raptor
--------------------------
Intel 520 - Intel 915PBL - 512mb Corsair DDR2 - X700 Pro - 160gb Seagate
--------------------------
Barton 2500+ - Gigabyte GA-7N400L - 1gb Corsair - 9600XT - 80gb Western Digital
--------------------------
Toshiba M35X-S149 - Intel 1.5ghz Celeron - 512mb PC2700 - 15.4\" widescreen - 60gb HD
an0nym0us is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 03:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Newer boards use the 24 pin plugs, while older PSu's only have the 20 PIN, you will have to get a converter in order to be able to use that power supply with that new mobo. The converters are about 6 bucks ...
Milly is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 03:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

Yea im hoping so...

Otherwise i got ****ed.

And i am ****ed.

And i dont want to be ****ed... I just want this to work...

I hope TigerDirect didnt rip me off.
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

I would blame the worthless power supply you bought, not the people that sold it to you...
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 02:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

you can afford a 6800gt OC, and yet, you won't spend the money for your computer's power supply?

try getting an OCZ mod/powerstream, fortron blue storm500, or antec neopower480

the power supply is one of the most important parts of your comp
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 02:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dale5605
I would blame the worthless power supply you bought, not the people that sold it to you...
Yep with a 6800GT OC you need a GOOD power supply
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 09:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

I didnt buy a worthless power supply people. Thats not the problem. THe problem is that the computer wont start up some im trying to figure out whether the problem truely is i was sold a faulty PSU or a faulty mobo.

Thanks for bashing me and not helping at all.
__________________

__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.