200 Gb Hard Drive only showing 127Gb on Win Xp - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-23-2004, 06:11 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

i know that, but theyre hard drives aren't 80gb . . . they are 80,000,000,000 bytes . . . even if you look at their company site, in fine print, they say that their definition of 1GB=1,000,000,000 bytes
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 06:33 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

okay, although the partition and format takes some of HDD space, what actually happens is this. When manufacturers show the size, they just show the decimal size. in example, 300 meg. now, what you have to do is break that down into the actual binary sizes. 1024 bits = 1 kilobyte, 1024 kilobytes = 1 MB (or 2048 KB). and 1024MB = 1GB so in a way, you ARE getting the correct amount, it just loses in decimal to binary conversion. Here is a link where I explained this crap in more depth and would hate to write it again! Its towards the end...

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=24182
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 08:36 PM   #23 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Question WTF is atapi.sys

Quote:
Originally posted by HoLoCroN
Have you tried loading SP1 yet? That might help.
I can't remember if I installed SP1a in there or not. Some how I don't think i have.

But i have having a problem there. I try to install SP1a, and I get the following error message :-
Quote:
SERVICE PACK 1 Setup Error
The file C:\winnt\system32\drivers\atapi.sys is open or in use by another application.
Close all other applications and click Retry.
This leads me to the next question of, what is atapi.sys? And how do i terminate it? Becuase in not in the Task Manager.
On other strange bit of computer behavour is that I have some sort of virtual drive showing up under my computer. This has been there for some time, but I have no idea how it got there.
Would programs like Alcohol 120% or Nero 6 Ultra cause some thing like this?


So far, the plan of action is to re-install SP1a. But in oder to do that, I need to get passed this atapi.sys issue.

SO I am going to try the following :-
* Remove both opitcal drives and install SP1a.
* Remove CD burning programs (Nero and Alcohal 120%) and install SP1a.
* Remove 200Gb hard drive and install SP1a.
* Combination of the above.

If you got any other suggestions, i am all ears. I am just not in the mood to format right now.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 09:06 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

I know that Alcohol will load a virtual drive, just like what you're seeing.

I found this link for the atapi.sys problem. According to this link, atapi.sys is a Microsoft supplied IDE driver.

http://support.microsoft.com/?id=197667

Unfortunately, it's for NT4.0.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 09:08 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

I found this by doing a google search.

http://www.computing.net/windows2000...rum/58337.html
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 09:35 PM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 50
Default

I thought it didnt show the full size of the hard drive because windows and dos or w/e uses some of the hard drive space for when you partition or the boot strap loader or the MBR ( Master Boot Record ) and other things like that and I thought thats why the 80 gig or w.e size hard drive's space went, not to mention the cluster size for each partition , cos you also lose space there.

Not sure If I am right about any of this, can someone please enlighten me and let me know if I am or not ?
gecko_au2003 is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 09:52 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i think the atapi drivers are used by burning programs.. if i recall, thy are drivers for reading from internal cdrw's when copying/scaning disks.
jolancer is offline  
Old 08-23-2004, 09:59 PM   #28 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hilowe
I know that Alcohol will load a virtual drive, just like what you're seeing.

I found this link for the atapi.sys problem. According to this link, atapi.sys is a Microsoft supplied IDE driver.

http://support.microsoft.com/?id=197667

Unfortunately, it's for NT4.0.
I will check out the link when i get home.

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
i think the atapi drivers are used by burning programs.. if i recall, thy are drivers for reading from internal cdrw's when copying/scaning disks.
Now that i think about it, i don't remember seeing that virtual drive untill after i installed Alcohol120%. So I might uninstall that first, and see how i go.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 07:27 AM   #29 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Thumbs up CASE CLOSED

In the end, it turns out that Alcohol120% was stopping me from Installing SP1a.

After getting removing Alcohol120%, i was then able to get SP1a on there with out too much hassle. And from there, Partition Magic 8 was detect the rest of my hard drive.


Currently it showing as 189 Gb.

Much better. I am happy now.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.