2 Video Cards/ 1 System - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2005, 10:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default 2 Video Cards/ 1 System

I curently have a Nvidia GForce FX 5500 128mb. I have 2 monitors using VGA + VGA from the video card. Now I also have an S-Video output but you can only use 2 monitors at a time, but I want to use 3, my TV. So if I bought an ATI TV Tuner, would I be able to use my tv with it along with the other card?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 11:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Yes, since the TV card will have nothing to do with the video card, if putting a little extra strain on the CPU.

What kind of TV is it?
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 11:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

55" Toshiba HDTV, Have 1.5 g pc3200, 3.6ghz p4
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 11:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Nice TV. Although you'll need a high quality HDTV tuner card. Which is fairly expensive and the ATI ones don't get very high reviews.

It's kinda like a little extra that's really not needed, but is nice to have.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

What VC would you suggest?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 11:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

I'm not 100% sure on how this would work out, but an alternative could be to invest in a cheapo PCI graphics card. Use your AGP FX 5500 for 1x VGA and 1x HDTV, and the PCI vid card for the second VGA. I honestly can't see you running into any trouble this way, but I'll double-check.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.