2 sata hd better then 1? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2004, 12:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

You would definitely get faster reads and writes, but the performance would not be mindboggling blazing glory!,,

you would be in the middle,,like " wow,, thats a bit quicker"

I agree with Ek,, get the 160 pounder of pRon going,, they give FTP access to this forum,,,

cheers
__________________

__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 02:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LoTeX
storing prawn? of course. but don't forget the carrot waxing. they go hand in hand.
LoL, nice pun.
__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 02:33 AM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

thanks, the pleasure was all mine. and my carrot's.
LoTeX is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 06:27 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well ive seen that the SATA drives are less expensive than IDE drives
I think SATA's have an IDE port as well, or at least some do

I know this is prolly gonna sound dumb especially from me, but could someone tell me what raid is?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 04:24 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

this should clue ya in man:

http://www.evozero.gamma.timdorr.com...des/c_raid.htm


-edit
heres another good link:
http://members.shaw.ca/xtremecomputing/RAID.htm
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 04:47 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
well ive seen that the SATA drives are less expensive than IDE drives
I think SATA's have an IDE port as well, or at least some do

I know this is prolly gonna sound dumb especially from me, but could someone tell me what raid is?
wow apok, i guess they just dont do that with Macs, huh, LOL, just kidding

whats with the "especially from me" thing tho? thats kinda haughty, dont you think?
__________________

dethangel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.