2 Raptors + backup hd w/RAID - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2005, 11:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

2 more raptors would be too expensive just for data redundency.

Wouldn't it make more sense to just get another seagate and RAID 1 that with the other one and store everything on there and use the RAID 0 for programs? Or am I just stupid?
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

It depends man. No one really needs 160GB (2x160GB in Raid 1) of storage to keep their "personal" files. The whole point of having Raid 1 is so that u don't have to go through the hasle of reinstalling everything. If the apps are running on the 2 x Raid 0 Raptors, they won't be backed up.

For my new system, this is what I am gonna do.

-2xRaptors in Raid 0 for everything
-A IDE HDD in an external enclosure (USB or firewire) that I can use to regularly backup my personal files (automated backup of "My Documents", etc.).

The Raid 1 HDDs are usually connected to the same PSU in the same case. And if the PSU goes kaboom and fries stuff, there goes my Raid 1 security as well - what a waste. That's why I am going to go via the external HDD route. I am gonna build it probably in 3 weeks or so. And good luck if u trip and fall down the staircase when carrying ur case , or ur little brother decide to play with a huge magnet......
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Chankama
It depends man. No one really needs 160GB (2x160GB in Raid 1) of storage to keep their "personal" files. The whole point of having Raid 1 is so that u don't have to go through the hasle of reinstalling everything. If the apps are running on the 2 x Raid 0 Raptors, they won't be backed up.
Some people do need 160GB for all their movies, media, pictures, files, music, etc.

And I don't think the whole point of RAID 1 is so you don't have to reinstall things. I mean why would you go out of your way and spend more money on RAID 1 just so you don't have to reinstall things? No, it's meant more for making sure that you don't lose all of your saved files and critical data. Programs can be easily retrieved and installed again, but all your work, music, pictures, etc. cannot be so easily restored.

Yes I know that 2 raptors running on RAID 0 won't be backed up.

You seem paranoid, good luck in keeping your data safe in your new system. But what if your power supply melts down and frys your hard drives and then simultaneously an asteroid comes crashing through your roof and smashes your external hard drive to bits? Then what will you do?
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Chances of that happening I would presume is pretty low compared to me dropping my case when I am taking it to my car .. But, if it does, I would go to the store immediately and buy a lottery ticket.

In anycase, storing pictures and data for a home user is not gonna take up 160 GB dude. Movies is another thing. But why the hell would anyone keep movies on their HDD instead of burning them on to a CD or DVD? That's just nuts.

Perhaps, I didn't state what I wanted to say properly. Companies and such do Raid 1 for their data. And perhaps, I shouldn't have said "people do it for this or that" since anyone (including u) can come and say "well I use Raid 1 for the data". I can't argue with that.

What I meant was, "pesonally" I don't see why anyone would use Raid 1 for anything other than protecting their apps. IMO, the home user really does not need 100+GB, if they make good use of DVDs to store read-only large files permanently. Just my opinion. They can use my setup which is probably safer and a lot cheaper.

And even for apps they can just get Norton Ghost. So, I don't really see any practical value of Raid 1 for home users. Which is probably why a lot of people don't use it.
Chankama is offline  
Old 04-17-2005, 11:32 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

But still I just don't believe anyone would use RAID 1 for the purpose of protecting their apps. I mean who gives a crap about apps anyway. Re-download and there they are again. RAID 1 is better used to protect your files that you can't re-download and that in the case of a drive failure may be lost forever if you don't back them up otherwise.

And yes I know people that can fill up a 160GB easy with their stuff. All their movies (it's expensive to burn every one of them to a DVD btw.), music, etc. Just using FRAPS to record some game footage of myself I have filled up 100GB of storage.

Anyway I was simply pointing out that it's best to run your programs/OS on the 10k drives and leave your other drives to handle all the storage, didn't mean to argue.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.