2 questions... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2004, 11:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default 2 questions...

1. if i get a Athlon xp 3000, 400fsb... the heatsync and fan that come with it are more then adequit it im not overclocking right?

2. if i geta nforce bourd like this one... http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...128-199&DEPA=1 then i would need high quality expensive ram for it to work?
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Answer for Q1: Absolutely right (infact, the fan that comes is small and smart, copper base and fins) and very quite too.

Answer 2: I'll recommend Asus A7N8X-Deluxe board to use with this processor. you'll love the way AMD works. and also buy a good RAM, as PC's stability is dependent on RAM quality as well. and Buy 2 sticks (as this board is dual channel)

buy a Kingston Value RAM, good price and exceptional performance.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 40
Default

Is the value ram any good? I always thought it was crap. Geil has some good ram, on newegg they have a gig of dual channel 3200 ram for only $190. I saw some benhmarks and it did really good.
__________________
NEW FOR COLLEGE!:

AMD Athlon64 4000+ SanDiego
MSI K8 Neo4/SLI
eVGA GeForce 6800 GT
Corsair XMS 1 GB TwinX 3200XL (TCCD)
SoundBlaster Audigy2 ZS
2 WD 36.7 GB Raptor HDDs in RAID 0
OCZ ModStream 520W PSU
Thermalright XP-90c
Panisonic Panflo 92mm
Thermaltake Tsunami Case
darkknight206 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

I am on Value RAM, 4 Sticks of 512DDR each (2GB), Thankful to God, I have put stress on my system, never ever gave me any problem, even slightest one.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i was thinking a cheeper alternative might be... this bourd.. http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-501&depa=1
since the ram il end up with prolly wont work on nforce.

using this ram... http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...145-026&DEPA=1

those arnt the best, but im not looking for the best, just stable. objectable opinions?
------------------------------------------------------------------
note- im inquarying now, but wont be buying anything, till like the end of this year, or maybe a little longer... so everything just gets cheeper
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 40
Default

Does the value ram have higher latency or does the other ram have jacked up prices for the stupid heat spreaders.
__________________
NEW FOR COLLEGE!:

AMD Athlon64 4000+ SanDiego
MSI K8 Neo4/SLI
eVGA GeForce 6800 GT
Corsair XMS 1 GB TwinX 3200XL (TCCD)
SoundBlaster Audigy2 ZS
2 WD 36.7 GB Raptor HDDs in RAID 0
OCZ ModStream 520W PSU
Thermalright XP-90c
Panisonic Panflo 92mm
Thermaltake Tsunami Case
darkknight206 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Value RAM are just OK, in some sort, somewhat equal to some expensive DDR's. my system is giving me performance more than I expect it should give, why should I have to but expensive DDR's for nothing.

and jolancer, I have used Geil memory on my A7N8X Deluxe, and this system is still in use (in my next room, but now owned by my cousin), as I have total of 4 PC's in my flat , so you can go with Geil Memory as well, else you can find the list of QVL (Qualified Vendor List) on Asus's website on this mobo's specs, and these include the list of rams that Asus have tested on their board, that deemed to keep it stable.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jolancer
i was thinking a cheeper alternative might be... this bourd.. http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-501&depa=1
since the ram il end up with prolly wont work on nforce.

using this ram... http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...145-026&DEPA=1

those arnt the best, but im not looking for the best, just stable. objectable opinions?
------------------------------------------------------------------
note- im inquarying now, but wont be buying anything, till like the end of this year, or maybe a little longer... so everything just gets cheeper
this RAM you showed, is very good, good than my Geil that I have used in my A7N8X, as if Geil can perform well, this corsair will as well. buy with confidence.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 12:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

thx, i didnt know about the QVL
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 12:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

your this corsair is as well recommened, they are very reputed manufacturers. in all cases, only go for Asus A7N8X - Deluxe board. as this board has won may many awards (around 47 i think) and is still flagship board for AMD AthlonXP series processors
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.