2 of my HD died help so it wont happen agian. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2005, 09:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default 2 of my HD died help so it wont happen agian.

k my setup was like this.
HP computer i bought it in 2001

SIS 650
P4 16.ghz
768 ddr 2100 ram
wd 30 gb
wd 80 gb

i put the HD that came with the pc in oen the cd bay is a segate 40 gb.

dynex dvd +-r\ rw

The problem.

at 1st everythign worked right and my dvds were burning in 10mins. then soemthign weird happened. while burning with nero 6 the buffer keep resetign it self. it woudl go to 10% then reset to 0 and start. it woudl reapet this through out the whole burning. it took 30 min to finish . I didnt think anythign of it so i kept burnign dvds even though it took 30 mins. after a week or two my Pc didnt want to boot. it would stay int he black screen saying disk boot error. i turn off and on a couple of time and then it booted . i had to do this every time i wanted to boot. i went in to the bios and somethign weird happen the segate HD( that one that was in the cd-rom bay) had all sorts of wierd charaters and its name. i got out of the bios entered again and it was fine. A week after turnign on and off to boot the pc, the pc wouldnt boot no matter how many time i try. I check my bois and my two WD HDs dispeared. I tested the drive at a freind pc and there were dead.

My questiong is is there soemthign we my pc that i can fix? plz help. I think is got somethign to do with the dynex dvd burner. Hlep me narrow it down so it dotn happen a new pc im buying.

sorry for the long post but i thoguht explaining everythign would help out. thx for the help
__________________

efd753 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 09:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Power supply could be frying stuff i think because the HD's and DVD rely heavily on the PSU and dont usually have alot of protection against over voltage
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 09:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Get a better PSU with voltage protection -.-
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 09:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

thxs for the reply so you dont think it has anythign to do wih the dvd burner or soemthign esle.

cuase right now im running the same pc.

I bought and extra HD a segate this tiem such in case it was the WD the cuase the problem. I install the ols segate with the new segate and the same problem is occurign so i quicly removed the new segate so i wont loose it.

thx for the help
i guess i'll check out what power suply i buy with the new CPU.
efd753 is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 10:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

Make sure it will be able to power everything and more, maybe 500 watt's...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.