2 Monitors output - DUal display - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2005, 08:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default 2 Monitors output - DUal display

hi,

I just got a 17" monitor from my friend, and i wish to set up dual monitor . but i dont know how to do it ./

The video card i using is Asus V9520 magic - which has only VGA, S-Video out and TV out , so i ask u guy is it possible to get a adapter or cable that will convert TV out or S-Video out ->VGA out ?


thanks - sorry if got someone ask this before
__________________

madking153 is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 09:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

buy another video card. You will need a PCI card since i am sure that your taking up your AGP slot. Then plug the other monitor into that card and bam.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 11:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

I don't think that's possible. Just get a new card.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 11:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Dual cards are better as far as Im concerned. I am using an ATI Sapphire 2800 Dual (256DDR) and it works awesome.
DJ_Cyber is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 12:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
I don't think that's possible. Just get a new card.
We build them like that here for our programmers. 1 PCI-E/AGP video card and 1 PCI video card. Yes it is possible.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 03:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Ohhh, yeah..
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 04:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default

hi, yes now i dont think is possible to change the TV out to VGA .
but i dont know how to set up if i use 2 graphic cards- now i using my Asus V9520 to 15" TFT - if i buy another PCI graphic card - wat should i do after connect it to my extra17" monitor??
pls advise - thanks
madking153 is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 05:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

from what I know, u need a dual display OS (XP for what I am using), 2 video card (1 AGP+1 PCI or 2 PCIs) or 1 dual display video card (which is quite rare and not practical)

hook up your video cards in their PCI or AGP slots depends on what you got, install the drivers, and then u should see 2 monitor when you go to your display setting, done :-)

hope it helps
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 05:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 449
Send a message via ICQ to madking153
Default

from another forum people told me that impossible to get dual display by buying a new PcI graphic card . he said only one of monitor will display.

currently my ACG(asus V9520 FX5200) connected to my 15" TFt , now my plan is buy a cheap PCI video card and connect it to my 17" CRT monitor. Is a good idea ?
madking153 is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 05:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Put the 17 incher to your main video card. Unless it has horrible performance.

It is a good idea. However, I may suggest that you stick with the same brand of video card. Use all NVidia. I say this because I've heard bad things about driver conflicts.

And the other fourms guy has no clue what he is talking about.

Oh, and to the other guy who posted that dual video card output cards are rare: that was true about a year ago. I do not know of any card made by NVidia or ATI in the past year that does not support dual video. The problem usually is getting a DVI to VGA adaptor.

You are correct in your statement, however, that they are impractical: my 6600GT is hooked up to a TV and a monitor, and when you play a full screen application (such as doom, farcry, anything without a minimize/maximize button), the unused screen funks out.

Good luck my friend, with your dual screen adventure. I've heard some horror stories with AGP+PCI... atleast a single card is easy.

Try it out and ask when you get an error. ^_^
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.