2 monitors at different resolution (?) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2004, 06:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Question 2 monitors at different resolution (?)

Silly question, but here goes:-

My primary monitor is my 19" LCD, running at 1280x1024 using a digital connection.

Is it possible to have another monitor (working of the analogue connection) at a LOWER resolution, i.e while keeping my LCD at 1280?
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 07:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

yes, i know you can do it, ive never done it myself, but some of my friends have done it and say it was really cool, its somewhere in the "Display Properties" under the settings tab i think.... i could be wrong though, so dont quote me on that.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 10:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

It's very much possible ... Just select the monitor n' drag the bar to the resolution you need.under the display properties tab.

Alternatively Nvidia's nview will aslo let you do this.
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 10:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

Bearing in mind that my second monitor only goes up to 800x600?

I want to double check before I go wasting my time...
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 12:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

If your monitor maxes out at 800x600, then that is the highest resolution you can use. Weither it's in a primary or secondary configuration, it doesn't change the way the monitor operates.

Therefore you can still change the resolution or any other settings for that monitor, and it will not interfere with your other display devices (such as LCD, TV, etc.).
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 02:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

OK thanks for the help guys, I'll give it a try soon.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 02:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

You're welcome!
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.