2 Memory Sticks or One? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 03:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to quietb05
Default 2 Memory Sticks or One?

Im building a pc and the motherboard only has 2 ram slots. Should I get 2 512MB sticks or one 1GB stick?
__________________

quietb05 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 03:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default

Get two 512, there is some bugs in the 1 GIG RAM chips, some of there timings are off.
__________________

raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 08:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It's not the timings or anything

But get 2x 512 sticks because they can overclock better, and also run dual channel which doubbles your memory bandwidth
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 08:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

like dj-chris said, 2 sticks is better because the 1gb will run faster as dual channel.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 09:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

if you plan to do upgrade on memory later, I suggest get 1 stick of 1G
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 01:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to quietb05
Default

alot of mixed responses
quietb05 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 01:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

If your mobo supports dual channel, then yeah, 2 sticks.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 01:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

I'd say two sticks. Of course the dual channel, timings are better, i think they are cheaper, and you won't be needed 2GB anytime in the near future.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 02:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I say, get what ever

The 1gb one has higher timings, but then again, the system doesn't have to go to the other stick of ram to get more memory out of it if you have the 2X 512.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.