2 HDDs or 2 RAID 0 HDDs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2004, 05:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 23
Default 2 HDDs or 2 RAID 0 HDDs?

should I order 2 400GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM) or should I order 800GB RAID 0 (2 x 400GB SATA HDDs) ?

I don't know which one is better.Do RAID 0 HHDs require anything to properly function?
__________________

TheOne is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 05:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
KorKwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 293
Default

I would get the raid 0 because of the performance... but are you really going to need that much space??? You motherboard must have raid 0 capibility or you can get a pci card for that....
__________________

__________________
It's not a race, unless it is a race.
KorKwin is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 05:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

they are the same...there are no RAID HDDs...you can use almost every HDD in RAID as long as its supported by your motherboard
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.