(2) hard drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2004, 12:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 35
Default (2) hard drives

I am wanting to add a second hd to my pc. I am wondering two things.

1) will adding a second hd take away any performance from the pc?

2) is it important to have both hd's the same speed?
__________________

icanrace is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 01:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

No and No. adding another drive only pulls a little power from the PSU and if you have a good one, there will be no need to even recognize that. speed is relative to the drive performance, not system. If you run things from a slow drive, they will operate a bit slower then if they run from a faster drive.
If you are looking to go with RAID, then speed and size are both important. Otherwise, don't worry about it.
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 01:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Default

ok, first why do you want to add a second hard drive ? extra storage ?
speed should match, mainboard specs, dma,ultra dma etc(but not a big issue)
will it take away performance,not really..as long as you don't take files from D and drag to C etc..
__________________
Square thing
With Lotsa wires & Thingy\'s
ByTeDeMoN is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 01:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 35
Default

yes, extra storage only. MP3's, misc data, etc.
icanrace is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 02:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Default

how big is your original hard drive ? you can partion it, use for mpegs etc,,there are also Usb external Hds,,lots of possiblities
__________________
Square thing
With Lotsa wires & Thingy\'s
ByTeDeMoN is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 03:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

1) no
2) no

if your new hard disk is much faster transfering the operating system on it would speed up your computer. to do this use norton ghost to clone the operating system partition to the new disk.

make a second partition on the new disk to use as storage. use the old disk as storage also. you would have a total of 3 partitions, they are treated as separate drives in windows.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 03:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 35
Default

thanks guys. you are a big help
__________________

icanrace is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.