2 ethernet cables? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2008, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 498
Default 2 ethernet cables?

Would the connection increase in speed if you put two ethernet cables into your desktop? I havn't taken networking yet... thats coming up in the next semester.
__________________

__________________
Live And Let Learn.
ZeroShade is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 08:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: 2 ethernet cables?

I believe it clears up some bandwidth, not necessarily speed. you buy a certain connection speed, your network plug(s) can limit your bandwidth, especially if you are doing alot via the network
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: 2 ethernet cables?

No, it won't do anything. 100Mbps is way faster than your internet connection anyway, your network isn't the bottleneck.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 09:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: 2 ethernet cables?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg View Post
No, it won't do anything. 100Mbps is way faster than your internet connection anyway, your network isn't the bottleneck.
he didn't say anything about an internet connection . it can be done but i think it requires special network switch features etc: Link aggregation - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 09:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: 2 ethernet cables?

That's pretty cool, I'll have to read up on that later.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BT Voyager 190 ADSL + Ethernet Switch Drakir Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 03-17-2008 11:01 AM
MDD Ethernet problem NCMau Apple and Mac 0 03-06-2008 09:00 AM
Ethernet Controller Missing Driver kkttt87 Microsoft Windows and Software 20 01-13-2008 01:31 AM
TCP/IP vs ethernet carey_w Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 10-02-2007 12:23 AM
Question about Ethernet Cables Josh1986 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 09-07-2007 04:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.