2 dual channel 256 DDR's or 1 512 DDR? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2004, 11:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 17
Default 2 dual channel 256 DDR's or 1 512 DDR?

A friend of mine recently built a new computer and decided to go with two 256 dual channel ddr sticks instead of one 512 ddr stick of ram. The explanation given to me was that his motherboard supports dual channel so its better. Can someone out there give me a better explanation?
__________________

Plague is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 01:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 79
Default

Actually that is the explanation.

To implement the dual channel function of the motherboard, you need at least two sticks of RAM. With a P4 system, dual channel implementation results in a preformance gain. You need one stick in each channell, hence the name dual channel. In this case, two sticks of 256 are faster than a single stick of 512. Also four sticks of 256 would be faster than a single stick of 1G RAM.

For a complete explanation of how dual channel works, try Anandtech or Tom's Hardware.

_Target
__________________

Target is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 03:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6
Default

how can u tell if ur motherboard suppports dual channel?
aznhaxor is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 04:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

look up your motherboard spec from the manyfacturer website or any online store. even the manual will clearly say if it has dual channel. they hype it up just like they used to hype paint that contained lead. people used to think lead in paint was a good thing......dual channel isn't much good unless you use onboard video
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 05:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

hey ekÆsine long time no see no post lol
Heres a link for ya
http://forum.pcmech.com/showthread.php?threadid=67892
XT is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 05:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 79
Default

Moderator,
I have to disagree with you. Having onboard video has nothing to do with dual channel. An add-in AGP card will be able to benefit from dual channel as well.

In very simple terms;
Single Channel - Memory modules are accessed through a single channel (or connection) between the MCH (Northbridge) and the memory modules.
Dual Channel - In dual channel mode the memory controller reads from or writes to two memory modules, each on seperate channels, simultaneously.

From Anandtech:
Quote:
a 64-bit 800MHz FSB offers at most 6.4GB/s of bandwidth between the Memory Controller Hub (MCH aka North Bridge) and the CPU..... .......to maintain bandwidth balance, the 875P's dual channel DDR memory controller supports DDR400 which, when installed in pairs offers the same 6.4GB/s of bandwidth as the chipset's FSB.
The benefits of Dual channel vs Single channel:
click here
Quake III Arena=7.7%, Jedi Knight 2=9.6%, Comanche 4= 5.7%, etc.

-Target
Target is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 05:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

Duel channel is hyped up when applied it gives you a 10% performance boost over the actual DDR memory performance.
U cant even feel it!
XT is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 05:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

Xt look at u r pm :P
__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 11:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 79
Default

U Cant feel 10%? Hmmm! I would a think 10% boost would be significant. But then what do I know?

All of us gamers must be stupid to spend hundreds of extra dollars on fast video cards, processors, RAM and other hardware just so we can get a few extra frames per second in the games we play.

BTW, a duel is where you are asked to pick a choice of weapons at dawn. Dual means two. The correct terminology is Dual even though some websites refer to it as duel channel.

-Target
Target is offline  
Old 03-25-2004, 03:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 17
Default

is it true that amd athlon 64 processors don't support dual channel?
__________________

youndkid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.