2% Cpu - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2005, 06:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 69
Default

Sorry to jump off subject but man you guys have some low cpu temps. i have a p4 prescott with this heatsink http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-144&depa=0
and arctic silver 5 and mine idles at around 38-39 and gets to like 43 when im surfing and playing music, light load basically. i havent had it at a constant full load yet but im guessing it will get up to 50 or so. and you guys are talking about being in the high 30s at full load. must be nice
__________________

freenet is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 06:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well dude I put like $100 into fans, modding, after market heatsink, plus it's an XP-Mobile so it has lower wattage, vcore, temps etc..etc..., so lol I better be in the 30's!!

But yeah like I said AND_YOU_ARE I just formatted literally like 2-3 weeks ago when I bought a new hard drive. So itd be ridiculously to already have to format again, although I may just for my own paranoia =/

Bah! I say!!
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 07:23 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Bingo...Nubius...that new hard drive might be the problem...I hope you didn't get it from Circuit City...they take old and returned hard drives...repackage them...and sell them as new...they even have defective ones too...and they go as far as taking a 20gb and selling it as 30gb or higher...
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 07:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I got it from newegg, and I know it's not the problem because the temps didn't rise as soon as I put in the hard drive, they rose after a couple weeks. Other than that I've had no problems with this drive and doubt that's the reason. It'd sooner be the fact that I now have 4 HD's running in my case opposed to 2, but still that 2% bump every 10 seconds bugs me.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 07:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

What OS you running?
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 07:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

XP, I've always had XP, but I'm trying to think of anything I may have installed or something along those lines that might do this.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 08:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

Did you ever install F@H and run it at lowest possible CPU usage? That is what usually causes these unexpected CPU usage boosts...
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 08:47 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Nah I don't do those kind of programs or anything like that. I turned on CPU Thermal Throttling and removed Bootvis via the Add/Remove programs and now it's sitting at like 33-34C so I'm gonna leave the computer and see if when I get back its at like 30-31 like it should be
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 08:49 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

ahh
Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 01-09-2005, 12:29 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

how about disabling some services in services.msc

also, after putting a new hard drive, it could be running warmer than the old one
are you running 2 hard drives in it now?

when you put the hard drive in, you could also have moved the computer tower in a slightly different position somehow impeding airflow of one of the fans by a little
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.