2 Computers....1 Monitor??? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2004, 01:52 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Silesia
$25 for a switch box. Is that just for your VGA, or it that a true KVM Switch Box that will give you Keyboard and mouse.
but inless its usb keyboard/mouse
everytime you turn on a computer the mouse/keyboard has to be connected before boot or else it wont work.
__________________

__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 03:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

I had heard that there are KVM switches on the market, that also have sound on them. I don't know who makes it, but when I get home from work tonight, I'll take a look.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 03:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 207
Default

there are but for the feature of audio splitting they are not worth the extra money you can find the spliting cables for allot less
amd643200+ is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 05:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 153
Send a message via AIM to MoMan813
Default

So will I have to have both keyboards and mouses hooked up for them to work or will just one of both work using a KVM switch?
__________________
Dell Dimension 8200
Pentium 4 2.4GHz
256MB PC800 RDRAM
256MB ATI Radeon 9600
Primary:40GB 7200 Hard Drive
Secondary:160GB 7200 Hard Drive
Windows XP HE SP1
MoMan813 is offline  
Old 03-02-2004, 05:44 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 207
Default

with a kvm you have one keyboard one mouse one monitor and multiple computers (depending on the size of the switch you get)
amd643200+ is offline  
Old 03-03-2004, 12:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

yep. Used a kvm switch at a previous job, where I had to work on servers. 1 monitor, mouse, and keyboard, and we had 6 computers that were connected to the kvm switch.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 03-03-2004, 01:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 153
Send a message via AIM to MoMan813
Default

Thanks for the help everyone. Now all I need is to look around and see where I can get the KVM switch the cheapest.
__________________
Dell Dimension 8200
Pentium 4 2.4GHz
256MB PC800 RDRAM
256MB ATI Radeon 9600
Primary:40GB 7200 Hard Drive
Secondary:160GB 7200 Hard Drive
Windows XP HE SP1
MoMan813 is offline  
Old 03-03-2004, 02:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

here it is:

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...n=kvm%2Cswitch
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-03-2004, 03:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 207
Default

I would recomend this one if you only have 2 computers

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...107-702&depa=0

some of the prices are better than this one but make sure it offeres wires too this one is small and offers all the featues you could want
amd643200+ is offline  
Old 03-03-2004, 06:20 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 153
Send a message via AIM to MoMan813
Default

I saw both of the ones you all posted. I dont know a lot about them, so whats the differences and which one really is better?
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 8200
Pentium 4 2.4GHz
256MB PC800 RDRAM
256MB ATI Radeon 9600
Primary:40GB 7200 Hard Drive
Secondary:160GB 7200 Hard Drive
Windows XP HE SP1
MoMan813 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.