2.8ghz or 2500+ - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2004, 08:38 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439

Originally posted by Nubius
Snap....didn't realize you already had the P4 board =/...yeah well in YOUR case then yeah might as well just get the P4 chip.

......yeah right man......look at those tests......the 3200+ performed well and even OUTPERFORMED the 2.8 on the quake 3 arena demo NV15demo at the bottom...I've never followed intel so I don't know which one the northwood is...but its the simple fact you get more performance out of the AMD chips per hertz than you do with Intel. Again the AMD had lower MHz but could still stand up to the competition. They didn't 'abandon' the XP series...its the simple fact it was time to make way for a new architecture and get the best performance out of 2GHz opposed to stupid *** intel having to go to the market and say 'Well.....ummm...their 2GHz is a lower number than our 4GHz!' but a 2GHz 64 would wipe the street clean with a 4GHz pentium. Simple as that.
You have to realize that the short pipes in the Athlon 64 allows it to perform as good or better as the P4 at lower clockspeed. But the short pipe also limits the clock speed on the Athlon 64. The highest overclock for the FX-53 was around 2.9ghz.

So it is not possible to clock an Athlon 64 up to the same clockspeed as a P4 with it's short pipeline... for now.

WQ87 is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 08:43 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

no but I saw two seperate screenshots of a guy with 3.1GHz 35w 2400+ XP-M.........can't give you a link and don't feel like finding it cause personally I'm tired of this thread....so hell you may not even believe me...but yeah he had like vapochill setup..it wasn't air or anything like that. You don't have to clock the 64 up as high because like I said it performs 2x the instructions per cycle...hence why they don't NEED the extra clockspeed.....Pentium used to be top dog, but now they overcharge and flaunt GIGAHERTZ! like thats all your computer needs to be a good machine. Marketing ploy

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 09:04 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439

The FX-53 was Liquid Nitrogen cooled at 2.9ghz, thats why i disagreed with you.

I am currently using a Athlon XP 3200+, it is in the link on my sig. It will tell you i'm not too much into Intel.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 10:12 PM   #24 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
mikesgroovin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715

Flaming posts will be deleted. Read the rules. If you can't keep your posts under control, it's simple......don't post here.
This thread is going nowhere......closed.
This thread was massively pruned to fall under the posting rules.


mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.