2.4 internal max? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2004, 02:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default 2.4 internal max?

So I was looking through 3D-Mark to see what my system is like, and I find that the internal core speed or something on my cpu cannot excede 2.4 ghz...i wanted to OC it a little with some nice ram im getting soon...but is this true, i cant go past 2.4ghz??????
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 09:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

anyone know?
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 09:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

3dmark03 tells you your max CPU core speed?...sounds fishy

CPU core can go to whatever the CPU can run stable at.

Never heard of a locked FSB (with the exception of DELL/Gateway/etc. mobos)
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 09:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 48
Send a message via ICQ to Danny_M
Default

Is there anyway of by passing the locked fsb on a dell machine?
__________________
Computer Stats:
Windows XP Pro SP1
ABIT nForce2 NF7-M
AMD Anthlon XP 2500+ Barton Core
128Mb Geforce 4 Ti
512 MB DDR PC333 PC2700
Danny_M is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 10:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

iunno, bios flash? is the only thing i could think of. Its the bios itself thats locked, but the mobo may not support Ocing.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 12:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Or, bring a Dell to the Empire State Building, stick it on the pointy thing on the top and then go get a custom pc.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 09:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 48
Send a message via ICQ to Danny_M
Default

lol its not mine but not a bad plan lol do you know any where in england that woould give it the same effect it runs at 2.2ghz anthlon 3200+ 64 bit
__________________
Computer Stats:
Windows XP Pro SP1
ABIT nForce2 NF7-M
AMD Anthlon XP 2500+ Barton Core
128Mb Geforce 4 Ti
512 MB DDR PC333 PC2700
Danny_M is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 12:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

heh, i dont have a clue about england...
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.