2.2 GHz Celeron -D or Sempron 2200+? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2005, 12:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

dude what the heck.. celeron is much better, and also with 256MB ram, it will run much better than sempron also.
__________________

nuke is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 12:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

You can pick up 512 MB of ram for 20 bucks after mail in rebates at circuit city. Its kingston. PC3200. If you can post the build, we can give you tips to save some cash.
__________________

__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 04:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Thanks again for your responses.
Well, I talked with my friend regarding the things you told me, and it looks like he wants the celeron because the motherboards for the 754 socket is a little more expensive. It ends up that either he can have a 2.6Ghz Celeron -D with 128mb of memory, or 2.4Ghz Celeron -D with 256mb of memory. This is based on the fact that the 256mb of memory is around 18 bucks and the 128mb is around 6 bucks (after mail-in-rebates). I'm not sure what you, Hacp, mean about the "build", but if you mean the RAM speed, it's PC2100, but I read somewhere that faster RAM is compatible with slower RAM-supported motherboards. I know, it's really outdated stuff, but he really wants a very cheap computer: case, cpu, and motherboard combined for $140 if possible (the rest of the stuff he has already). By the way, the PC3200 512mb of ram for 20 bucks is really cheap and I will definelty convince him to buy it if I can find it.
So now the main question is which is better?: 2.6Ghz Celeron -D with 128mb of memory, or 2.4Ghz Celeron -D with 256mb of memory (probably able to convice him to 512mb)

And by the way, here is the current setup that I have for him if he were to choose the 2.4Ghz Celeron with 256mb of memory:

Diablotek Phantom ATX Mid-Tower Case with Clear Side, Front USB & Audio Ports and 550-Watt Power Supply (29.99)
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...Tab=0&NoMapp=0

intel Celeron D 320 Prescott 533MHz FSB 256KB L2 Cache Socket 478 Processor - Retail (72.99)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819112190

PC CHIPS M925G V9.1B Socket 478 VIA P4M266A Micro ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail (29.99)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813185038

pqi POWER Series 256MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 333 (PC 2700) System Memory – Retail (17.99)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141168

Any suggestions would be highly appreciated.
Thank you again.
cssadmin is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 05:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 156
Default

Sempron 2600+ get that!

Get PROPER branded RAM and add another 256 later. (DDR 400 is nice)

What is this computer form, if you don't mind me asking?
AuBrEy Online is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 05:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

I repeat, CIRCUIT CITY is selling Kingston 512GB PC3200 sticks for 20 dollars after mail in rebate. I'm not sure if your state has tax, but I would get it. By the way, the 2.4 celeron D is fine.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 05:54 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...486783&CatId=0

Not too sure about DFI on Intel boards though.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 05:58 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hacp
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...486783&CatId=0

Not too sure about DFI on Intel boards though.
I put money on DFI being a million times better then getting a PC CHIPS motherboard.
mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 06:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...7617&CatId=191
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 06:16 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

OK screw everything I just said. Here is what you should get.
Motherboard
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=241587
Processor
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ctCode=80142-1
Case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811145047
Ram
http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Kings...oductDetail.do

Hope this helps you.

This is only 7 dollars more than your previous setup if you count shipping , and the extra 7 dollars is defenetly worth it. You get 512 Ram instead of 256, and also you can run that ram at a fsb of 400, so the computer will be faster. Also, do you have to pay sales tax in your state? if you do, then I think the 2nd option will be 11 dollars more expensive, as 8% of 50 is about 4 dolalrs. Trust me. It is worth the extra 11 dollars.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 06:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

The setup Hacp just posted would be your best bet,Atleast going with a socket 754 system it leave's you with an option to upgrade later to a 64bit processor.
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.