1st Time upgrade/build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2004, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default 1st Time upgrade/build

Hey guys.

This is my 1st time upgrading (basically rebuilding)
I need to know some stuff.

Current System Specs Are:
Athlon Xp 2400+
1GB PC2700 Ram
160GB Seagate 7200Rpm HD
80GB Seagate 7200Rpm HD
Radeon 9800 Pro
LiteOn CD- RW
Volcano 12 heatsink+Fan
GA7VA Gigabtye Mobo.

I want to upgrade to.
Intel Pentium 4 3.0Ghz 1MB Cache
Supportive Mobo for under $120 AUS
9800 Pro
160GB HD
CD Burner
1GB PC 2700 Ram

So i will have leftover:
Athlon XP 2400+
Witch i plan to build a system with.

So i need your help with selecting a Motherboard that supports Intel P4 and HT 800FSB http://www.auspcmarket.com.au/show_p...&category_id=1
Preferably of Aus PC market.

Now to the building part.
I will have to take my old mobo out so im guessing i take everything off the mobo.
3D Card
PCI cards

Now how do i acctualy get the mobo out of the case?? i have no clue..

Then i have to install the new mobo.. CPU and the 3D card ,Ram and PCI cards..

So how much thermal paste do i need to put on the CPU??

Sprooty is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 08:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286

I HIGHTLY recommend an AMD chip. If you have a lot of dough in your wallet/bank, then get the Athlon 64 FX or Opteron, they have like 1600MHZ FSB and it's way better than the intel, which costs a lot for what you get. The Athlon 64 (not FX) is good to, and cheaper than the FX, it's around 100-200 bucks depending on what you get. If you really want the Intel, look on Newegg.com and they have some good motherboards like the Intel "D865GBFLK" i865G Chipset Motherboard for Intel Socket 478 CPU -RETAIL


Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 08:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

actually, the Athlon 64's in socket 939 have a 2GHZ FSB, which includes some 3000's and some 3200's <- they're also in socket 754, 3500's, 3800's, most FX-53's <- they're also in socket 940, and all FX-55's

socket 940 has a 1.6GHZ FSB and supports all of the Opteron processors, the FX-51's and some of the FX-53's but require ECC RAM which is slower

socket 754 has 800MHZ-1.6GHZ FSB, does not support dual channel RAM, and supports 2800's, 3000's, 3200's and 3400's

socket 939 is the pick of all these sockets; I reccomend geting a 3000+ in socket 939 with either an Asus A8V, Abit AV8 3rd eye or Gigabyte K8NSNXP-939

for the video card, the 9800 Pro is a good card, if it has the R360 core instead of the R350, you can softmod its BIOS so it becomes an XT

I suggest getting at least PC3200 RAM, Corsair, Kingston, OCZ or Transcend are good brands
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-12-2004, 09:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 264
Send a message via AIM to Rizinc4

To take the motherboard out of the case, make sure all the cables are disconnected from it. Then you want to leave the processor, heatsink, and ram in. You should remove all the components in the PCI/AGP slots before removing it. You should see appx 10 silver circles on your motherboard, these are screws... simply unscrew them all and take the motherboard out.

For the thermal compound, you want to remove all of the paste that was on the heatsink/processor with a credit card, or something similar. If it is hard to remove, you can heat it up for just a few seconds with a hair dryer. When it is all clean, put a small dot of the thermal compound, smaller than a pea! Now spread this around with the credit card also, or you can just wear a rubber glove and spread it around with your finger. When you finish, you should have an evenly spread PAPER THIN layer of paste. Going over board with the thermal compound will only have the potential of causing higher temps, and other problems!
Rizinc4 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 10:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default help

ook thnks for that.

1 more question (ull need to follow the link to see what i mean)

ok now see Intel Pentium 4 530 (3.0Ghz), LGA775, 1MB, .09u, 800Mhz FSB, Prescott $293

and Intel Pentium 4, 3.0Ghz, 478Pin, 1MB, .09u, (800Mhz FSB - Prescott) $305

now i cant tell the differance expet of the 530 bit in the 1st one...
now im looking for P4 3.0Ghz 1MB Cache with HT.. do either of these to have HT ?

now if i go here http://www.auspcmarket.com.au/ and look down to Intel Pentium4 3.0GHz Skt 478 CPU (800Mhz 1024k L2 cache "Prescott") w/Intel Cooler & HT support
CP-INP4E3000800G $308 its nilly the same price as the 2nd one?? so dose the 2nd one support HT??
Sprooty is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 08:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 11-14-2004, 08:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321

actually, even if your an office person, u can still go with AMD's 64 series coz when the 64 bit OS comes out early next year, it'll perform better than Intel processors. correct me if i'm wrong. thanks.

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD±R/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 03:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default Help

How am i meant to fit this

Into that

Its dosnt look rite especially the speaker jacks. Help.
Sprooty is offline  
Old 11-15-2004, 05:23 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

your motherboard should come with another bracket which you replace that one with
again, I reccomend getting an Athlon 64 3000+ or 3200+ in socket 939 rather than a Pentium 4

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939
Asus A8V Deluxe or Abit AV8 3rd eye
and if you can, try and get a Geforce 6800 rather than a 9800, you will see a big difference

for the Pentium 4's, if you really want to get one, get one in socket 775
P4 3GHZ socket 775
with this motherboard
Gigabyte GA-8I915P Pro
and instead of a 9800 pro, get a 6600 which performs better and is less expensive
Geforce 6600

Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.