1gig dual RAM Recommendations - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2005, 09:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ApM
Who says the RAM is going to be towards Performance?

People may be considering buying new RAM but don't want the "expensive stuff" un-yet still highly efficent and somewhat still a performance stick.

And thats where I come in.

Qualitity and Performance at a cheap price.
Man, you are a hustler.

Zipzoomfly is great. I'ver order so much stuff from them, I was ordering stuff from them when they were still GoogleGear.com and I have never had a problem with them.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 09:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Business man.
__________________

ApM is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 11:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

ApM you need to shrink that sig. 15 lines of size 1 text and you have 20 lines of regular text. Too big
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 11:32 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius

That won't get you high performance gaming and high quality OC'ing RAM dude. You need $200+US for that.

However there is one exceptiong to that:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...218-062&depa=1
Can't get there here in the UK, checked three of the top sites.


But is Corsair 1GB DDR XMS3200C2PT TwinX (2x512MB) decent gaming RAM?

And how much Mhz will my MOTHERBOARD surport? Higher Mhz better the ram, yeah?
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 11:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

as long as your board supports ddr400 it's fine (and yes,, your board does support ddr400)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 11:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

I was confussed with the DDR400+ so that kinda mean I can go over 400Mhz?

I've seen this RAM: Kingmax Hardcore what I've read alot of good things about but don't know if it'll work on my motherboard, it's 500mhz.

Hardcore
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 12:15 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 231
Default

BUMP
hewhohasissues is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:08 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

The overall speed of the RAM is 400MHz, but in the BIOS it'd be listed as 200 because of 200x2 = 400 due to DOUBLE data rate (DDR)

You can run RAM that's DDR500, but it won't simply plug and play like that. You'll have to manuall go in there and adjust your CPU FSB or HTT if you have an AMD64 to get up to that speed the RAM is capable of, otherwise when you first plug it in, it'll simply underclock.

You don't need high performance RAM like Corsair XMS unless you plan on overclocking it, if you aren't going to OC valueRAM will save you cash and not hurt performance.

OCZ Platinum Rev2
G.Skill LA
Patriot XBL
PQI Turbos

All those IMO are better than corsair in terms of overclocking, but of course they also come with a pretty penny price tag
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 08:18 AM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
However there is one exceptiong to that:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...218-062&depa=1
Is this stuff really that good? It had only a few reviews but people were hitting 230-260 and thats pretty damn good for a brand I've never heard of...
__________________

__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.