1gb xms VS 512 mb mxs in 3dmark - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2004, 01:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default 1gb xms VS 512 mb mxs in 3dmark

ok well as some of you might know, one of my modules of 512 mb ram is bad. Right now i am getting 3803 in 3dmark05 with 512 mb ram.

The rest of my rig is as fallows:
3500+ 939
abit av8 3rd eye
eVGA 6800GT
74 gb raptor
160 gb seagate
480watt butterfly
audigy 2 zs plat

How much more would my score be with one extra module, and running dual channel?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 11-07-2004, 02:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

woot, i went from 3803 to 4551 just by using the drivers from guru3d.com!! i cant wait to get my other stick of 512!!
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 11-07-2004, 03:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

yeah ,its amazing how you can improve performance just by installing updated drivers. I call it a kind of free upgrade because you can get performance increases by not upgrading one cardware component. With linux you can recompile your kernal for your specific hardware and it boosts performance, but about your first question, will your performace for another 512 stick be worth what you payed for it.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-07-2004, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

what drivers did you use from guru3d? was it just the updated ati, or was it the dna drivers or omega drivers?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 11-07-2004, 03:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

uhh, wayne, back to reality, my new pc has arrived
its the 3500+ with 6800GT. and i dont need to pay for the other stick of 512. i already bought 2, but 1 is faulty. So im gona RMA them, and get new ones.

i used the 66.77 from guru3d.com
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.