1gb or 2gb? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Which operating system are you using?
Microsoft Windows 5 100.00%
Apple Mac 0 0%
Linex 0 0%
My Very Own Operating System! 0 0%
Voters: 5. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2005, 10:09 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Nawwwwwwwwww, man. 640K all the way!. lol. Anyone remember when Gates said about 640K? Something like nobody will never need more than that? I believe in 1986....Anyways........1GB Dual Channel for sure.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 10:17 PM   #22 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
Nawwwwwwwwww, man. 640K all the way!. lol. Anyone remember when Gates said about 640K? Something like nobody will never need more than that? I believe in 1986....Anyways........1GB Dual Channel for sure.
I have 1 gig of ram for my computer. for my video editing chores, I have a video hardware encoder. they cost anywhere from a grand or 2, but you can get them on ebay for anywhere from $20.00 to $250.00. it won't use your computer as a resource and you'll get better picture quality
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 10:58 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

It really depends on what you will be running, I have 1 gig and it's more than enough for me. (At least for now ).

Also it would depend on the OS, I recently read an article about Longhorn. They reccomend minimum 2gig because of all the power-hungry features.

Drworm2005.

Ps: The first computer i had didn't have any Memory at all, The good old Tandy TRS-80.
__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 11:38 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by drworm2005
It really depends on what you will be running, I have 1 gig and it's more than enough for me. (At least for now ).

Also it would depend on the OS, I recently read an article about Longhorn. They reccomend minimum 2gig because of all the power-hungry features.

Drworm2005.

Ps: The first computer i had didn't have any Memory at all, The good old Tandy TRS-80.
I have the Tandy 1000 SL....

Never turned it on because i have no screen/keyboard for it..... Plus nothing else for it lol.... But i have like 3 add in cards for it INCLUDING a realy REALY old modem.... That thing is freaking huge.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 12:12 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

i didnt read any of the postes above, cause ima slow reader and dont have the time.

but for whoever asked the question....

the amount of ram you put in your computer realy only depends on your budget.

example - on my budget, id prolly get 1gb max.
- if i had a budget like some of these ppl with A64 san diego's and 6800gt's, id prolly just get 4gigs of ram, or however much i could fit on the motherboard.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.