1gb or 2gb? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Which operating system are you using?
Microsoft Windows 5 100.00%
Apple Mac 0 0%
Linex 0 0%
My Very Own Operating System! 0 0%
Voters: 5. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2005, 06:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

just put in your freakin sig that's the point of having it there.

I've seen you post 'Ya Fx-55, sli'd this, blah blah blah' in places where that information doesn't even matter. I think most everyone here knows what you got. Yes I understand, I'd be proud to have a nice system to, but when it comes to posting it in places where it doesn't really pretain to the situation it's a little ridiculous.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 06:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Not only that, but your system has to account for a larger memory size which not only decreases memory bandwidth and increases latency, but hinders your system resources as your RAM gets more jammed full of fragmented crap and the CPU has to devote more processes to pulling stuff off the RAM.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 06:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

By the time 2 gigs is needed, its time for a new rig anyway.

BTW: dont ask, i was a fool
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 07:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
just put in your freakin sig that's the point of having it there.

I've seen you post 'Ya Fx-55, sli'd this, blah blah blah' in places where that information doesn't even matter. I think most everyone here knows what you got. Yes I understand, I'd be proud to have a nice system to, but when it comes to posting it in places where it doesn't really pretain to the situation it's a little ridiculous.
Dude, what's your problem nubius? I post mostly in the hardware section of this forum... Don't specs pertain to hardware? It's not to brag it's for a reference. Plus, i follow the guidelines of this forum. And no where in the guidelines does it say, "Don't post your specs too much because Nubius might think it's ridiculous!"

Yes, your right i should just bring back my sig... but since my last one was 1pix too long, i got it removed and haven't felt like reposting it.
i'll do something though... ONLY because it will save me time on replys.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 07:10 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

stop yer fighting you two it's going nowhere
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 07:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Damn... There seems to be more flame wars these days everywhere.. What's up with that..
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:11 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

my friend has 4 gigs and says it takes .0000000000000001 second to end a program and start an new one
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

I like 2 gig personally, but the fact is that 1 gig is more than enough. It is up to you if you ask me... personal preference.

By the way, Havoc, you wouldn't happen to have a P4 at 3.4 GHz with an X800XT would you?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wayniac
I like 2 gig personally, but the fact is that 1 gig is more than enough. It is up to you if you ask me... personal preference.

By the way, Havoc, you wouldn't happen to have a P4 at 3.4 GHz with an X800XT would you?
Nope. I don't have a FX-55 with 2 6800u's SLI'ed either...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:51 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

I like your sig by the way Havoc... haha
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.