.18u & .13u - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2004, 10:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default .18u & .13u

What would be the difference between:

AMD AthlonXP 2000+(.18u) 266
AMD AthlonXP 2000+(.13u) 266

other than the fact that the .13u is incompatible with my mobo,

I tried looking on the internet...but it doesnt explain to me the difference between .18u and .13u
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 11:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

There is a difference in the the core.
.18u=.18 micron technology(1u= .000001 metres)
.13u=.13 micron technology
__________________

__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 11:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

To make smaller circuit sizes, the transistors need to be made smaller too.
Therefore, .13micron technology primarily means that the dimension of the transistor gates etched on silicon is .13 micro metres.
Hence as this dimension decreases, we can pack in more transistors.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 12:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

.13u is preferable.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 12:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

.13 means it draws less power and emits less heat than .18 or anything larger. So a AMD AthlonXP 2000+(.18u) would have less overclocking ability than a AMD AthlonXP 2000+(.13u), as the .13 is much newer and the smaller die has more heat headroom. But as far as performance goes straight up, they should be the same, though Id upgrade to a more recent mobo if I were you anyway.
__________________


Apple, Mac OS , and Power PC
g5orbust is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 02:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

does anyone know what the name is of the AMD AthlonXP 2000+(.18u) 266

what i mean is, is there a specific name or product number that makes it different from the AMD AthlonXP 2000+(.13u) 266?
ADZ is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 04:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ADZ
does anyone know what the name is of the AMD AthlonXP 2000+(.18u) 266

what i mean is, is there a specific name or product number that makes it different from the AMD AthlonXP 2000+(.13u) 266?
I dont think there is one but places like www.newegg.com tell you specs such as the die size before you buy.

EDIT: I think they only sell .13ยต units now. And theyre really cheap (50-70$US)
__________________


Apple, Mac OS , and Power PC
g5orbust is offline  
Old 06-06-2004, 04:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

http://ncix.com/products/index.php?s...anufacture=AMD

This doesnt say if it is or not...any one have any ideas?

btw...thank you for your input!!!!
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Closed Thread

« ATI ?'s | Clueless »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.