15,000rpms HDD's in raid 0 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2004, 03:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default 15,000rpms HDD's in raid 0

Would 2 very fast small(~20-40gigs) HDD's in a raid 0 configuration added to my system improve performance very much?

I would load windows+games onto these drives and then everything else on the 120gig i already have.
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 04:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

Yes it would condiderably be faster. All though you only get 10k rpm hard drives in raid because 15000 rpm are scsi hard drives and you need an scsi pci controller card, because your mobo most likely wont have the connection. However you can setup 10,000's in a few differnt raid configurtions. You could even just setup 1 hard drive in raid and your other hard drive on ide and be fine too.
__________________

__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 04:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

The only improvement would be in loading times for your levels etc... so unless you're using your system for a Network base or CAD or something with many file swapping, you won't notice much difference. I wouldn't put my money there. Those 10000 RPM drives are much more expensive than 7200 and give you the speed of a medium SCSI drive. Change your 9200SE card in your system 2 instead. You can read more at tom's hardware or at anandtech.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 04:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

zerozero is right, however i do a lot of video editing and pictures and webdesign. But mostly video. So in my case the faster hard drives would be good. But for gaming you could just go and get a normal 20gb for 50 bucks and install windows xp and software to it. same concept but for gaming i dont think you need the raptors.
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 05:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zerozero
The only improvement would be in loading times for your levels etc... so unless you're using your system for a Network base or CAD or something with many file swapping, you won't notice much difference. I wouldn't put my money there. Those 10000 RPM drives are much more expensive than 7200 and give you the speed of a medium SCSI drive. Change your 9200SE card in your system 2 instead. You can read more at tom's hardware or at anandtech.
I just got that video card, because it is the most cost effective PCI!!! card that is made. There are some that like 800$ and are still crap. If i could have gotten something better....i would have. And i think i will hold off on the HDD's.
__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.