+12V rails - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2005, 06:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default +12V rails

Hey whats a good rate on +12V? im looking at 18 and for OCing a socket A cpu. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 06:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

36A is a good rate on the +12V. This power supply has that:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-918&depa=0
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 06:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 175
Default

18a on +12v rail for x86. 22a on +12v rail for x86-64.
FrontSide is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 06:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You guys are waaay overkill, my 420watt thermaltake lets me run 2 hard drives, an AMD 3400+ OC'ed to 2.66GHZ, 2x 512 meg ram, 13 fans, an A8V and a 6600GT

All this with an 18 amp rail.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I have that psu given in the link above. Its a great psu. I have five hard drive and many other pieces or hardware inmy pc. Antec makes great psu that last and that are very quiet.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 07:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

Well i have a budget for my other computer to 60$ thast why i was saying like 18v cause i cant afford much for my smaller computer righ tnow. i was thinkin the 380watt true power
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 08:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 175
Default

18a on the +12v rail is quite low for x86-64.
FrontSide is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 08:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

what is x86-64?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 08:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 175
Default

x86-64 is an instruction set used by 64-bit CPUs.
FrontSide is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 08:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

well im not gonna run it on a 64-bit. im running it on a 2600+
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.