10000rpm hard drive - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2004, 09:02 AM   #21 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

but way too expensive
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 09:06 AM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
well the site that i would probally be buying off of www.overclockers.co.uk don't sell seagate hardrives, so i would be buying a western digital hard drives.
Find another store. Quickly.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 10:29 AM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 178
Default

ebuyer
i prefer this site and it is in the uk also, much cheaper than overclockers
Shadow9684 is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 09:16 AM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
but way too expensive
Not really. If you can afford two 36gb raptors, RAID is pretty much standard on mobo's these days.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 12:15 PM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 70
Default

if you dont wanna screw around with raid(which by the way shows no significant sign of performance.If anything it hinders your computer because of 2 times the amount of possibility of failure. a few mags have done reviews and benchmarks speak for themselves.)but if you wanna a HUGE drive and save lots of money. get a 300gb maxtor diamondmax10 7.2krpm 16mb buffer. only like .3 ms slower than a raptor. im doing a raptor with windows and main programs and a diamondmax10 with movies/music/documents on.

just my .02$

-Corey
__________________
Antec P160
AMD 3000+ 939 socket
MSI K8V Neo2 Platinum
1 Gb Kingston 3200
BFG 6800gt
WD 74gb raptor
xcoreyx is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 12:32 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DontStealMyFish
Default

I thought the WD's Raptor also has a 5 year warranty check out the bottom of this page: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-160&depa=1
however...dont buy any hard drives from toshiba...especially 2.5" ones...
DontStealMyFish is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 05:14 PM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
Default

The fact is, Seagate isn't better than WD isn't better than Maxtor. They all make quality drives, and everyone has had one of them fail on them so they decide that brand is no good. They are all equal in quality. Period.

Also the best site on the Internet for buying computers is Newegg. There is no better site. They almost always have the lowest prices I've ever seen, and all their products come in two days when you get three day shipping.

Now as far as the RAID 0 vs. 10k RPM goes, yes RAID 0 is fast. But it doesn't even come close to the 10k RPM drive. Remeber, having two 7.2k RPM drives in RAID0 does NOT mean you will write data at 14.4k RPM.

On that note, I would go with the 10k RPM drive. There are some things you can skimp out on in a computer: floppy drive, cables, etc. But you do not want to skimp out on your hard drive. If it were me, I would spend a little extra money for the nicer quality drive.

The only downside is that you have to have a SATA connector on your motherboard. If you only have IDE connectors, then I would consider going with the RAID 0. Even though it might have a chance of failing, the chances are incredibly low. Plus, you should be backing up your important data somewhere else anyway.

Also not that I'm saying someone doesn't know anything, but I would be weary accepting advice from anyone who hasn't upgraded their computer in the last 4-5 years (apokalipse)
BuckingFastard is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 05:30 PM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Raid 0 speed increase is very minimal for normal home PC use. Dont bother, you can also set up as two seperate drives in non raid config to have redundancy, you can also speed up the system by putting the page file on the seperate HDD, but Raid will not have the speed increase that you are probably hoping for, especially in gaming.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 05:32 PM   #29 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by killians45
Raid 0 speed increase is very minimal for normal home PC use.
Yea, I'd have to agree. But then again, there is such a thing as bragging rights
BuckingFastard is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 05:36 PM   #30 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Now that, I cant argue with
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.