10000rpm hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2004, 07:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default 10000rpm hard drive

hello,

I plan to build a new computer at christmas and was wondering is it is it worth getting a 10000 rpm harddrive? knowing that to be able to afford the extra money for it, i would be taking away from the processor. And how likley would it be that i would ever fill up the 74gb in it? or should i get a 40gb 10 000 rpm hardrive for main programs, and get a 80gb one for everything else, like pictures and music.


Thanks.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 07:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'm also planning to build a PC of my own
I would get 2x80GB 7200RPM HDD's and put them in a Raid 0
this way it is almost as fast as a 15000RPM HDD, but a lot cheaper
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 07:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Only problem with that is if one drive fails you are screwed. The 10,000 RPM drives are nice and it makes winXP installation about 10-15 mins instead of 35 or more. Installing programs and loading windows in general is really fast.
Nubius is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 07:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Seagate make reliable drives, you'll have almost null chance of a drive failing if it's a Seagate
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 08:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

well the site that i would probally be buying off of www.overclockers.co.uk don't sell seagate hardrives, so i would be buying a western digital hard drives.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 08:26 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

techstore have Seagate drives
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 08:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

sorry, i meant 10k rpm har drives
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 08:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I was saying that 2x80GB 7200 RPM HDD's in a Raid 0 would be faster than 1x10000 RPM HDD
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 08:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: 10000rpm hard drive

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
hello,

I plan to build a new computer at christmas and was wondering is it is it worth getting a 10000 rpm harddrive? knowing that to be able to afford the extra money for it, i would be taking away from the processor. And how likley would it be that i would ever fill up the 74gb in it? or should i get a 40gb 10 000 rpm hardrive for main programs, and get a 80gb one for everything else, like pictures and music.


Thanks.
Unless you have a need for 10k RPM SCSI, then I would suggest that you can put that money elsewhere on your computer.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 10:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

the 10 he is ta;lking about isnt a scsi, its a sata WD raptor, they have then in 36 gb and 74. It is indeed real fast. I am getting 1 74 gb rator, and 1 160 gb seagate for my new pc. i am going to install all my main programs on the 1st one, and the rest on the other.

But Apokalipse said something pretty smart also, is to get 2 7.2k rpm sata HDs and put them in raid. Itl be fast also.
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.