100% Cpu Usage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2005, 03:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 49
Default 100% Cpu Usage

Hi, i play counter-strike which i gues some of you also play. well the thing is whenever i play it it uses 97-100% of my cpu which means it laggs whn trying to play music etc aswell. i woul't have thought this wd b a problem as i just got a new comp (built it myself)

any help will b gd, thanks.

comp specs :

Xp pro (32-bit)
3000+ 64bit (newcastle)
1gb kingston 400mhz
radeon 9800 pro 128mb
120gb ATA
Asus K8V-x
__________________

s0M30n3 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 03:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

you probably got a virus... scan your computer, that happened to me too..
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 49
Default

ive scanned for virus but non found (norton 2004 pro)
s0M30n3 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 03:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

CS is a FPS game, so it wouldn't surprise me if it eat your CPU like candy? :-P especially if u using high graphic setting....

I will check for virus, adware if you are worry, and maybe even close those background task program and see how it goes :-)
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 03:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You should be able to play music while playing a game. I nearly aways have itunes up in the background when on CS:S, with only a small interuption when I just start the game up.

Disable the visulizer as well.


Closing background tasks is aways good.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 04:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Also turn off any windows media player visualizations
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 05:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

see sig for free scan. It is better than norton
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 05:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

yea there should b eno reason you have that much usage as said try virus scan and I would reformat just to make sure if you have nothing special on hdds.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 07:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

OP: is this on css (counter strike source) or cs (the old counter strike) Which game are you playing. I know there is a comand to show you your fps in css. I dont know it off hand, but it is something like netgraph3 or something. You could see how many fps you are getting, or use fraps (google for download) to determine the fps during game play.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 07:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

while in the game alt tab out open task manager click the processes tab then sort by cpu usage, what process is sucking up cycles?
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.