1 step away from RMA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2005, 04:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default 1 step away from RMA

I bought myself a motherboard. My buddy and I actually got matching boards. They're the Gigabyte GA-K8NSC-939. We bought them off of Newegg. We can't get any life out of either of these boards, AT ALL. I mean, none.

We tested our power supplies, and case to see if the switches on the case work. I've shorted the power pins on the MOBO to try and jump it to life, but nothing.

I'm not to the point where I can even see the bios. I have everything in place that's necessary to start the machine, and I can't figure out what's wrong. If anyone has any longshot ideas, I'd love to hear them before I RMA BOTH of our boards. Or, maybe newegg is easier to replace them?

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Do you have ALL of your power connectors plugged in? Including the 4 pin (or is it 6?) little PSU connector that plugs in near the CPU? That is one that many people overlook, Ido it all the time and resort myself to freaking out for about 10 seconds while my computer dosent turn on and I figure it out.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 04:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

i had a problem like this and the problem was my powersupply...i fixed it by fllicking the switch lol
__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 04:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Yes I have that exact board and you must plug in the 4 pin square block connector on the top left of your board.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 04:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

The connector is plugged in. You guys don't give me enough credit. Anyway, if anyone has anything to add, feel free to continue throwing out ideas! Thanks everyone for your responses.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 06:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Lol, maybe I don't give you enough credit either, but there is a switch (mentioned above) on the back of the Case's power supply. Check if you switched it to on.
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-11-2005, 09:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Well, we have an issue. We actually got power to portions of the motherboard. When we find the 'sweet spot' of the ATX power connector, things start to light up and fans start spinning. We get no readout from our video card and, therefore, are unable to tell if the BIOS are initializing. Any ideas?

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 09:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

That usually happens when you dont have some power connector plugged in. For a second the fans will spin, and you will get some lights, but nothing after that. Happens when you dont plug in the 4 pin, but since you do, maybe it is your PSU. Try a different PSU. If that dosent work, make it somebody elses problem and RMA that badboy.
Him is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 09:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I think it's time to RMA. I tried the PSU in another machine... It checked out. We tested the PSU with a tester and plugged the 4 pin into the board just to see... All the fans kicked on and got power very well through the 4 pin connector. The issue is in the 20 pin. A

Anyone had experieces with RMA and gigabyte? Speedy, crappy?

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 09:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

rma is actually with newegg not gigabyte. a while back i fried my mb (back when i was a noobie), bought the same one from newegg, returned the fried one saying i changed my mind and did not want it. I am pretty sure all i had to do was pay the shipping to send the fried board back, no restocking fee.
__________________

__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.