-1 Seagate - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2006, 05:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default -1 Seagate

Rebooted the computer a few hours ago, heard several loud clicks followed by a thunk sound and my start-up froze at the windows XP screen...after spending about an hour trying to figure out which drive was the issue I went into my bios and found that my prized 500 drive was not being detected...pulled the cable and windows booted fine

Now then I have to figure out a way to try and salvage the data off of a drive that refuses to boot when it's plugged it and won't even show up in the bios...if anyone knows any dos based recovery tools that would be very nice

But yeah, I have no where to archive this stuff assuming I can even pull it off successfully, and although it isn't anything crucial, it still took hours and hours of downloading to get all that stuff...you start to realize that regardless of a "5 year warranty" that doesn't mean jack if you lose everything on the drive itself

I guess it's partly my fault and I should have done some reading, as we all know the larger the drive is the more platters that drive will contain and thus the more heat it will produce...in the case of Seagate drives with three or more platters, there is an issue with the controller chip within the drive frying after a duration of intensive reading and writing...therefore if you want a drive 250 or larger, I advise you avoid Seagate as they do not live up their reputation with larger drives

WD next time for me
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 05:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

western digital has more expensive hard drives

my computer's hard drive was 40 GB, bought 2 years ago, for $120!

now, you can get a maxtor 80GB hard drive for $50....

in my opinion, i would go for maxtor, just for the price...
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 07:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

That is exactly why I don't go for the greatest and biggest HDDs. I always go 2 sizes or less below the current max.

I figure if they can offer a 5 year warranty on the largest drive, the "smaller" drive is pretty safe due to heating issues.
Chankama is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 08:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

what the **** kind of a comparison in price are 2 products from 2 years apart? from what i see WD actually make cheaper drives (at least the prices we get around here) and the drives are faster. for a fee seagate will probably recover the data for you if you RMA it. don't think you will have a chance with DOS based recovery tools. if the BIOS can't detect the drive then as far as the PC is concerned it doesn't exist.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 11:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
Default

any drive over 160 gigs should be cooled to maintain life.
__________________
Biostar T-force 4U,Opteron 148@2.6Ghz.CorsairXMS DDR500-2gigs,EVGA7800GT CO.Seagate160gigSATA II,Koolance ICM 510 watercooling,Coolermaster Stacker830
cobalt817 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 08:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Of course I have a fan blowing over my drive cages but apparently that wasn't good enough for whatever reason...I'm not paying for data recovery either since as I said nothing on the drive was crucial, this was simply a really big annoyance
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 11:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
Of course I have a fan blowing over my drive cages but apparently that wasn't good enough for whatever reason...I'm not paying for data recovery either since as I said nothing on the drive was crucial, this was simply a really big annoyance
Have you tried the freezer trick for the drive?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 06:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I wasn't familiar with the freezer trick but after googling it up I don't know if it will remedy the problem...it seems to only be successful with drives that are in the process of dying, and in my case, based on the sound it made and the diagnostic, I think mine is just flat dead

Plus I already have it packaged up for RMA and will be mailing it tomorow, maybe I'll try it with my next dead drive
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 06:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "rial#!gg@$.com..."

Why lucky you! The hard drive that crashed in your computer happens to be from the worst possible hard drive company?

If you can, try making a XP boot floppy from the ADd\remove programs control panel, and boot through that with the old drive connected. Then after the command prompt comes up, just type FDISK and see if that cand find your drive. Other than that, i don't know what else you can do, homeboy.
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 10:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default Re: "rial#!gg@$.com..."

[QUOTE]Originally posted by ATIRAGEPRO
[B]Why lucky you! The hard drive that crashed in your computer happens to be from the worst possible hard drive company?

seagate is not the worst possible hard drive company....
__________________

123Justin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.