zalman vf900 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2007, 05:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default zalman vf900

I just installed it on my 7600gt, did anyone else see a significant drop in temps cause mine is exactly the same? WTH??? Temps on Nvidia's monitor 50C, on PC wizard temp is 42C. PC Wizard temps dropped from 48C but I don't know how accurate it was to begin with.
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 07:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: zalman vf900

The VF900 on my X800GTO dropped temps from 89*C at load to 55*C at load.

Did you use the crap Zalman thermal grease, or did you use good stuff like Arctic Silver 5?
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 07:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: zalman vf900

yea, I know I should of gotten artic silver. I'll order some. I did reinstall it cause I was tightening the screws alittle too tight where it was leaning towards the right side of the chip. It dropped 10C after reinstalling it. Does that sound right?
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 12:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: zalman vf900

Well, if it was leaning to one side you didn't install it correctly. You have to tighten it evenly. If you have four bolts, tighten in a
1 3
4 2 pattern.

If you have two bolts, tighten them evenly. Do one turn on each bolt then go to the next, and repeat until it's tight. You want it as tight as possible without bending the card. Be careful though as it is possible to crack the video card if you over tighten it.

Also, it's only going to drop so much. There is no guarantee that it's going to drop by X amount for every situation. My card was running hot because it had a junk stock fan, so the VF900 decreased temps significantly. If your card is already running at 50*C at load then it's probably not going to cool it by much.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VF900 connection... b1gapl Overclocking and Modding 1 03-31-2007 05:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.