Zalman Heatsink Not working??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2007, 05:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Zalman Heatsink Not working???

Got this one....



and then this...




My temp before was 58c max, but now it keeps goin up, i had to stop what i was doin cause i thought it was gonna over heat....

Whats wrong?, should i not use the fan controller that came with it?
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 06:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Zalman Heatsink Not working???

did you use stock or as5 thermal paste/any paste at all?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Re: Zalman Heatsink Not working???

i cleaned my processor to get all the stock thermal paste off, then i used the thermal paste that came with the zalman
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 07:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Re: Zalman Heatsink Not working???

Anyone, its getting really annoying
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 07:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Zalman Heatsink Not working???

how much tp did you use?
the voltage in your sc is pretty high
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 10:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Re: Zalman Heatsink Not working???

i covered the whole cpu with thermal paste..... im pretty sure everything is on properly... could it be that the zalman is just not as good
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Zalman Heatsink Not working???

check out my specs, i use zalman, just like yours except all copper
EDIT: did you check temps from BIOS?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 07:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Re: Zalman Heatsink Not working???

anyone else have any ideas
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 06-13-2007, 08:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default Re: Zalman Heatsink Not working???

how thin was the layer of thermal paste you put on. . it should be VERY thin.. also make sure its screwed down fully.. youd be amased how mucht the temp will rise if its not on fully
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 06-14-2007, 07:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Re: Zalman Heatsink Not working???

its all the way on, the thermal paste was on pretty thick but not enough to sqeeze out of the sides
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zalman HeatSink for OC'ing??? shan1784 Overclocking and Modding 6 06-13-2007 10:14 PM
New Sony DVD's Not Working kfc469 New Technology and Products 2 05-28-2007 11:39 AM
Network connection stopped working!? farmboy1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-28-2007 05:31 PM
Sound not working techn00bie Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 04-11-2007 09:33 AM
Cable connection not working. lalala123 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 04-10-2007 01:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.