Your HD is corrupt but you have to get the data off, what do you do? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2010, 11:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Runfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 186
Default Your HD is corrupt but you have to get the data off, what do you do?

I have that hard drive, my back up drive. I backed up my important files on it, but now I cant access it. When I try to install it on my computer, my computer wont boot to any operating system, it just sits there, HD blue light solid like it want to read the drive but cant.

So what are my options? When I try to access the drive from windows 7 it wants me to format the drive. Could I format the drive and then use a data recovery program to recover my files as long as I don't install anything on the drive? That's about my only idea. Any recommended data recovery software? I found Easeus which looks promising.
__________________

Runfox is offline  
Old 10-20-2010, 11:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default Re: Your HD is corrupt but you have to get the data off, what do you do?

So it recognizes it in bios and windows 7 wants you to format it? It sounds the like the drive is spinning and working but something is corrupt maybe some bad sectors or something like that. Anyways, I don't see why you can't just use a drive recovery tool right now?
__________________

harnar123 is offline  
Old 10-20-2010, 11:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Your HD is corrupt but you have to get the data off, what do you do?

Please dont post multiple topics of the same issue. You already have a thread about this problem here with support already being provided.

Topic Closed.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corrupt Office Suite Text/Data Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 10-02-2009 10:43 AM
Restore Data From Corrupt Excel And Word Documents Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 09-25-2009 08:09 AM
microsoft data acces, remote data svcs, active x wettie_21 Internet Software and Browsers 0 06-15-2007 02:26 AM
Bind data in a hash table to a data grid in C#.NET nilusha Programming 1 10-12-2005 11:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.