XPS 1530 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2010, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Question XPS 1530

I currently have a Dell XPS 1530, I have been trying to troubleshoot some issues with it under another topic on this forum.I have given up trying to get rid of Malware if thats what is causing it.Spy Emergency is blocking any kind of programs to scan for Malware.Seems SE is no where on my laptop so I can't turn the scanner off.Anyway I'm currently running Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 Duo T7250 @2.00Ghz 2.00Ghz RAM 3.0 GB 32 Bit.I just want to replace the Hard Drive and Ram with a update if possible then I'll know the problem is gone.What is the recommendation on HD and Ram for my system. I know if I do this my laptop will be clean,I could order the exact same thing that's installed now but might as well update if possible.Thank's in advance!
__________________

makitaman60 is offline  
Old 04-02-2010, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: XPS 1530

Why don't you just reformat instead of buying a completely new hard drive?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-02-2010, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: XPS 1530

Sure I'm all for what ever it takes to get it back and running.Will this clean up everything and get rid of any possible malware? Please tell me what to do, I have all my software that came with my laptop, I'm just not sure how to clean off everything.Thank's
makitaman60 is offline  
Old 04-02-2010, 08:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 162
Default Re: XPS 1530

restart and keep pressing F11, i'm pretty sure that model has a recovery partition and that would be the absolute easiest thing for you if you don't know how to format/reload yet. F11 should literally walk you through erasing everything and reinstalling windows, assuming that it does have a recovery partition, and it hasn't become corrupted or infected.
__________________
There are 10 types of people in this world. People who understand binary and people who don't.
DBB2010 is offline  
Old 04-02-2010, 09:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: XPS 1530

Let me see what I can do,I'm sure I can screw it up.I'll let you know how it comes out.Thank's
makitaman60 is offline  
Old 04-03-2010, 12:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: XPS 1530

You'll want to back up any important files before you do this. It will restore the computer from the factory image, like when you bought it, and all your data will be erased unless you back it up first.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-05-2010, 06:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: XPS 1530

ok I tried to re-format I'm not getting any response from F11.I new mine would be difficult.I'll keep trying and searching.Thanks
makitaman60 is offline  
Old 04-05-2010, 07:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 162
Default Re: XPS 1530

try CTRL+F11 or ALT+F11. some sony systems are F10. sometimes it can be accessed by pressing F8 like you're going into safe mode, then there will be an option for recovery.
__________________

__________________
There are 10 types of people in this world. People who understand binary and people who don't.
DBB2010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HP e9150t vs. Dell Studio XPS - Need buying help Moondoggy System Upgrades 17 07-28-2009 11:09 AM
Dell XPS 1530 ram braz Laptops and Notebooks 2 05-16-2009 12:07 PM
Dell XPS 1530? Michael_R. Laptops and Notebooks 6 08-06-2008 09:45 AM
Dell XPS 420 or Inspiron 530 samuelsteven New Systems | Building and Buying 1 02-17-2008 04:32 AM
query about bluetooth mouse and graphics card xps m1330 Flame Laptops and Notebooks 1 02-14-2008 07:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.