XP only recognizing 130GB of 320GB - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2008, 09:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Guff1988 Send a message via Yahoo to Guff1988
Default XP only recognizing 130GB of 320GB

My Bios recognizes all 320GB's but XP only recognizes 130GB's...why is this? What can i do? Are there third party partitioning programs that can help?


XP SP2 all new BIOS/Drivers

They say Evil Prevails when good men fail to act.
What they should say is "Evil Prevails."
Guff1988 is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 09:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: XP only recognizing 130GB of 320GB

Have you given windows up date a go?

Ste is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 10:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: XP only recognizing 130GB of 320GB

Make sure XP is up-to-date. You can use Gparted to change or check the partitions. You can also use Computer Management included in XP.

My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-05-2008, 11:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
veedubfreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: XP only recognizing 130GB of 320GB

xp will only see 130 if you dont have sp2. If you installed using a cd that is presp2, then it will only see the 130. use the diskmanagement after you have done all of your updates and it should see the rest of the disk.
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ECS 755-A2 and WD 320gb Sata II harddrive issue. bazooka Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-17-2007 05:18 AM
500gb = 130gb HDD.... what the.... explanation needed... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 35 08-08-2007 03:33 PM
320GB HDD showing only 298 hambone04 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 08-03-2007 11:34 AM
Hard Drive 320GB is.... NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-10-2007 04:36 PM
Recognizing Some Current Infections Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 04-04-2007 10:36 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.