xfx geforce 6600 problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2006, 07:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 222
Default xfx geforce 6600 problem

I just got an xfx geforce 6600 256mb ddr and it was working fine untill I restarted then it went to a blank screen and then I rebooted it about 3 more times and then it stopped at a blank screen all 3 times for about 1 minute except the 3rd time it was there for about 30 seconds!!!
__________________

ikillyou61 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 07:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Did you buy it new? XfX are famous for going nuclear right out of the box!!! I hope you have the sales tag. You will need to RMA that card. If you bought it used....ouch!!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 222
Default

I bout it new!!!

I got it at tigerdirect for $120.00 or something like that!!!
ikillyou61 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 03:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

If you read these forums, XFX is known for DOA components. you will need to call XFX or Tigerdirect.com and RMA the card.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 222
Default

what does DOA stand for?

What does RMA stand for?
ikillyou61 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 07:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

DOA= Dead On Arival

RMA= Return Merchandise Authorization
rma just meas to return it

after returning that one i would buy a 6600gt its only $10-20 more
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.