x-fi stopping computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2006, 10:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default x-fi stopping computer

when i plug in my x fi sound card in the bottom PCI and turn on my computer i get nothing... my monitor stays black and thats that... what do i need to do !? i know theres been issues in the past for people
__________________

__________________
http://wickedlasers.com/

check it out!!!!!!!!

in my old forum you needed 1000 posts and they selected your title.. you people are wacked out!
ryanlopez4550 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

and if you take the card back out it starts working again?
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default

yes i take it out and bam it works fine
__________________
http://wickedlasers.com/

check it out!!!!!!!!

in my old forum you needed 1000 posts and they selected your title.. you people are wacked out!
ryanlopez4550 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

and you have tried it in other pci slots?
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default

no but where i looked on the other peoples problems they say not to put it in the others... why... i dunno..

but hey ill try it
__________________
http://wickedlasers.com/

check it out!!!!!!!!

in my old forum you needed 1000 posts and they selected your title.. you people are wacked out!
ryanlopez4550 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default

ok i tried that and the same thing happened
__________________
http://wickedlasers.com/

check it out!!!!!!!!

in my old forum you needed 1000 posts and they selected your title.. you people are wacked out!
ryanlopez4550 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

would it be possible to try it in another machine ? mabey an IRQ problem between the graphics card and the sound card but i doubt it.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default

yea i tried on another computer but i of course got the same problem
__________________
http://wickedlasers.com/

check it out!!!!!!!!

in my old forum you needed 1000 posts and they selected your title.. you people are wacked out!
ryanlopez4550 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

faulty card then most likley fried by esd or something. may have to replace it.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.