X-Fi Issues. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2006, 04:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default X-Fi Issues.

ok i just upgraded to an x-fi. i'm getting worse frame rate in BF2 and i tried to change the rendering device to the x-fi and it said my hardware is incompatible and that i should reset my settings so i did and now it still doesnt work.....

~thanks
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 09:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I think there is a problem with old X-fi's and NForce 4.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 12:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

You might need to reformat, when i swapped out my Live! for my X-Fi, i couldn't run anything in hardware sound, so i reformatted and it now runs great.

I'm also using the nForce 3 chipset, not 4, and i've heard about people having problems with the nforce 4 chipset and X-Fi's, but i dont' know if it was over sound quality or fps.

then again, that was the old ones too
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 09:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
I think there is a problem with old X-fi's and NForce 4.
i'm not using an old one, its brand new.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 09:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sw1tCh[FX]
You might need to reformat, when i swapped out my Live! for my X-Fi, i couldn't run anything in hardware sound, so i reformatted and it now runs great.

I'm also using the nForce 3 chipset, not 4, and i've heard about people having problems with the nforce 4 chipset and X-Fi's, but i dont' know if it was over sound quality or fps.

then again, that was the old ones too
in BF2, i hear a huge difference in sound... i can't tell if its better or worse. when flying jets, there is no bass at all as opposed to my audigy2 were there was a lot of bass. i'll try reformatting (sigh)
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 04:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You may have gotten an old X-Fi even though you just bought it. Look up the manufacturing date or use serial and ask Creative if its fixed or not.

You should also try flashing your motherboard with the latest BIOS.
turtile is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 10:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by turtile
You may have gotten an old X-Fi even though you just bought it. Look up the manufacturing date or use serial and ask Creative if its fixed or not.

You should also try flashing your motherboard with the latest BIOS.
how do i do that....were do i get the latest BIOS?
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 03:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

DFI's website under support or you can go on DFI Street and use custom BIOSes.
turtile is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 06:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

ok then just put it on a floppy disk??
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 04-26-2006, 09:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You have to format the floppy as an MS DOS boot disk and then load the BIOS on there.

It may need a program to install the BIOS also that you can load on the floppy.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.