Wrong eSATA Cable? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2009, 10:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 35
Question Wrong eSATA Cable?

Hi everyone. I have a Gigabyte P35-DS4 (rev 2.1) motherboard with a eSATA bracket which I have installed on the PC back panel. It looks like this....



Now I just bought a acomdata PureDrive 500GB external hard drive, which has both USB and eSATA hook ups on the back, like this....



My problem is that the eSATA cable I have does not have the same size plugs on both ends....



As you can see from the pictures both the external eSATA bracket and the acomdata drive take the wide ends of the connector. My cable has a wide connector on one end and a shorter connector on the other. I'm just wondering if I have the wrong cable, and if so which cable do I need to get?

Thanks.
__________________

desktop is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 10:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Wrong eSATA Cable?

That's due to one end being intended for that brand drive while the other is standard for the eSata port on the board there or for eSata ports seen on cases and expansion cards. It's a quick one way fit.

You'll also notice that the end going into the usb port is different from the typical usb plug there as well. The squared off type plug for the drive is the same as seen on many usb printers while the other end plugs into the standard usb port. Again a one way fit.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 10:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 35
Default Re: Wrong eSATA Cable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
That's due to one end being intended for that brand drive while the other is standard for the eSata port on the board there or for eSata ports seen on cases and expansion cards. It's a quick one way fit.

You'll also notice that the end going into the usb port is different from the typical usb plug there as well. The squared off type plug for the drive is the same as seen on many usb printers while the other end plugs into the standard usb port. Again a one way fit.
I have no idea what this means. What is the quick fix?
desktop is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Wrong eSATA Cable?

He's saying you'll need a different cable.

You need eSata to eSata, what you have is an eSata to LSata (see the L shape in the connection)

Newegg.com - SIIG 3.28 ft. eSATA to eSATA Cable Model CB-SA0111-S1 - Cables
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 02-06-2009, 11:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 35
Default Re: Wrong eSATA Cable?

Lexluethar, thank you. I just found that out on another forum.
desktop is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 05:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 35
Default Re: Wrong eSATA Cable?

Well my new cable came today and I hooked it up and nothing. The light on the front of my drive is red and that's about it. Anyone have any ideas what could be wrong?
desktop is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 05:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Wrong eSATA Cable?

Have you formatted the drive windows drive manager yet?
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 05:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 35
Default Re: Wrong eSATA Cable?

It worked fine with the USB cable, now I don't get anything but the red light. There is no reason to format the drive and besides you have to SEE the drive in order to format it - it doesn't even show up in my computer.
desktop is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 05:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Wrong eSATA Cable?

Is the SATA controller properly installed on the system?
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 05:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 35
Default Re: Wrong eSATA Cable?

Everything is properly installed.The eSATA bracket is hooked up to the SATA plugs on the board.
__________________

desktop is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
A patch cable with 2 switched wires is the only way a connection can be made... ?? Jayce Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-12-2008 05:28 PM
Australia to get a new submarine cable Harper SEO and Web Traffic 4 04-14-2008 10:30 AM
answer me this.. LAN cable DOESNT WORK with certain PCs. clever_j Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 05-26-2007 01:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.